Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
jllarraz
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

How can i configure dns and ip address in jde simulator

hi,

I think that i have a problem with the dns in the blackberry simulator (i have access to internet but i cannot access via socket conecction to my server), if i do that in normal java program without jde i can access to the server (the code is the same) .

thanks

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mweitzel
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How can i configure dns and ip address in jde simulator

If you download and install the MDS simulator then you will be able to simulate a connection through the MDS component of the BES in which case it uses the IP and DNS settings of your computer that you use to run the simulators. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,599
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How can I configure DNS and IP address in JDE simulator

[ Edited ]

Some more thoughts following mweitzel's response.

 

You say you have access to the Internet.  I presume this is from the simulator, using the BlackBerry Browser.  If so, it is likely that you already have the MDS simulator running because I don't think the simulator has any other way of getting to the internet.  

 

However you can't necessarily use the same URL from a Java program running on your PC and a Java program running in the device.  BlackBerry uses a connection suffix to help route the flow of the request, as documented in here:

What Is - Different ways to make an HTTP or socket connection
DB-00396
http://tinyurl.com/3ynfr5

or

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/What_Is...

 

On the simulator, if you have ";deviceside=false" (which is the default I think), you will need to have the MDS simulator running.  If you  have ";deviceside=true" you will not.

 

You will find more information on this by searching this forum - there are many threads that discuss connection problems.  You might find this one useful for example:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&message.id=1765#M1765

 

 

If however the above doesn't help, can you give us the URL you are using and explain what problem you are seeing.  In addition, the level of JDE/Simulator might be useful too.

Message Edited by peter_strange on 09-10-2008 11:22 AM
Please use plain text.
Developer
jllarraz
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How can I configure DNS and IP address in JDE simulator

Hi,

I have trying to understand what is happend and i make captures to the network traffic with wireshark and i see that when i do an http conection it works fine but when i try to use an udp communication it doesnt works(i dont see it in the network).

If i do that in a normal java environment(not jde) i can see it in the network (Sip packages).

i think that i am going to decompile the mjsip.jar to see what is happend.

Note: i am trying to register in a sip registrar server.

Please use plain text.