Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
MC2011
My Device: 9700

How do i do simple 2D animation on a canvas

Hi,

I am new to blackberry development and i need to complete and urgent assignment, i have looked around and i dont see much material to point me in the right direction, or some just is a little confusing.

I need to split the screen into 2 the bottom half will contain a text field for input and a button, the bottom half will cover about 30% of the screen and the top half the 70% of the screen.

On the top half i want to be able to do some 2D rendering in the sence that i want to draw a square for example and move it around smoothly using a rendering loop.

What components of the api should i look into to accomplish this task ? It has to be on version 5.0

Thanks in advance.

Developer
peter_strange
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How do I do simple 2D animation on a canvas

Welcome to BlackBerry and the forums.

In this case, what you will need to do is put a Bitmap in the top 70% of the screen (you will need to create this dynamically to match the screen size.  Then you will need to create an animation Thread that draws the moving image, image at a time.

This same sort of process is used to draw animated gifs in the following KB article:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Display-an-animated-GIF/ta-p/445014

I think this KB article will help you get what you need to do sorted out. 

Contributor
MC2011
My Device: 9700