Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
My Device: No
My Carrier: Nokia

How to convert float to string.

Hello,

            I am getting float value from somewhere, so i need to put that value in my AutoTextBox for that i am converting that value in string.

 

 String fortext = String.valueOf(floatValue);

textBox.setText(fortextt);

 

but it is crashing on line "textBox.setText(fortextt);"

 

any idea what can i do with it. or any other good way to convert flaot to proper string.

Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
My Device: Dev Alpha, 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: How to convert float to string.

[ Edited ]

What error are you getting? I think that code should work.



I've got 99 problems and eclipse is all of them


Twitter

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
My Device: No
My Carrier: Nokia

Thanks for reply ,   The code is working fine but when i...

Thanks for reply ,

 

The code is working fine but when i give 8 number in edit text it is crashing.

and for 6 its code working fine.

Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
My Device: Dev Alpha, 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Thanks for reply , The code is working fine but when i...

By "8 number", you mean 8 decimal points?

Check what maxNumChars you passed in the AutoTextEditField constructor. It controls how many maximum characters you can enter to the field. Change it to a larger value to accomodate your text if it is less.



I've got 99 problems and eclipse is all of them


Twitter

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: How to convert float to string.

Hi Himanshu,

Use below code to convert float to string.

float f = Float.parseFloat("56896");
String s = Float.toString(56896.0f);
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't Say thanks, press the kudos button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
My Device: No
My Carrier: Nokia

I am not setting any value in my constructor. i  am doing...

I am not setting any value in my constructor.

i  am doing like this 

 

public TextBox(int percentWidth, long style, int maxLength)
{
this(percentWidth, style, maxLength, null);
}

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
My Device: No
My Carrier: Nokia

Re: How to convert float to string.

when i am using Float.toString ,its giving error cant find symbol

Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
My Device: Dev Alpha, 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I am not setting any value in my constructor. i am doing...

when you created an instance of this TextBox, what value did you pass in maxLength?



I've got 99 problems and eclipse is all of them


Twitter

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
My Device: No
My Carrier: Nokia

Re: I am not setting any value in my constructor. i am doing...

[ Edited ]

 

textBox = new TextBox( Field.FIELD_VCENTER, BasicEditField.DEFAULT_MAXCHARS,
new NumericTextFilter(NumericTextFilter.ALLOW_DECIMAL));

 

 

BasicEditField.DEFAULT_MAXCHARS is taking 10000 int.

Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
My Device: Dev Alpha, 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I am not setting any value in my constructor. i am doing...

Hmmm.

Which line exactly is the code stopping at? and what is the exception that you're getting?


I've got 99 problems and eclipse is all of them


Twitter