Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Contributor
rainingsonic
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
My Device: Torch

How to create app not accupying full screen?

Is it possible to create an app that is not taking up full screen? 

 

Widget? Seems it also only supports full screen.

 

Any guidence is appreciated!!

Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

No. Widgets aren't possible.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

I don't see why you couldn't have an application that uses a PopupScreen.

 

I've written apps that "hide" in background and only push a modal popupscreen when they need user input.

 

Contributor
rainingsonic
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
My Device: Torch

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

model dialog will not do.  I've seen apps that have weather on front screen.  Just wonder how that is accomplished.

Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

Can you give an example app? You can update your app's icon in the background. You can push notifications. But if you have seen something like a Android Weather widget that isn't done with a popup, then I would be presently surprised.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Contributor
rainingsonic
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
My Device: Torch

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

Here is one:

 

here

 

 

Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

I see. That isn't a widget though as it is on Android. The dev did a very nifty trick where he creates a wallpaper in the background and then displays that. It can update the wallpaper to show updates to stocks, weather, etc.

 

I wasn't entirly sure until I saw this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z99aSASLqS4

 

When the app list fills the screen, you can still see the "widgets" in the background.

 

If you wanted to do something like this, it wouldn't be interactive (as previously stated), and probably wouldn't be that fast (never tried to see how fast the background could be changed).

 

Was there a perticular purpose you had in mind that required non-full screen, but not model dialog, apps?

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Contributor
rainingsonic
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
My Device: Torch

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

If it is an modal dialog or show-through-background app, you will not be able to interact with BB home screen buttons.   But I think this app actually allows you to click BB home screen buttons.

 

Here is one more:
here

Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

That is correct, but if you change the home screen background you will be able to interact with BB home screen buttons but a model dialog or show-though-background app you will not.

As for your second one, I'm not so sure and would have to play around with the app or find a video of someone using it in order to try and guess as to how it works.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
silver20
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: Paper cup

Re: How to create app not accupying full screen?

[ Edited ]

You could do a trick like take a screenshot, put up whatever you want over the homescreen, and when the user makes input you immediately close the popupscreen and pass the input through to the real homescreen. Meanwhile the "widgets" stay the same because they're replicated in the background. Then when the user is idle for a second you again take a screenshot and throw up a popupscreen the user doesn't even notice, because it's an exact copy of the homescreen. That would make for faster widget response.

Alternatively, you could potentially add your own widgets to the managers of the homescreen app itself; I haven't explored exactly what the manager & field heirarchy of the homescreen is, but you could do that in a simulator, and it is possible to get the references and potentially add your own fields to another app's managers, with field-change-listeners directed to your own app.  But that would probably only work if they're basic managers like VerticalFieldManager, because you can't override sublayout for someone else's custom manager.