Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
rihan007
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB
Accepted Solution

How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

How do we programatically detect whether the BIS data traffic is routed through the carrier network or Wi-Fi. Looking at the BB logo dots, we can see that it will be near Wi-Fi indicator if data is routed through Wi-Fi, and near the carrier signal indicator if the data is routed through the carrier data network.

Is there a way to detect that programatically?

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,216
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/system/CoverageInfo.html#isCov... used with some different parameters should give this info
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
rihan007
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

Ok. that should help. I have already disabled wifi by setting it as disallowed transport type in connection factory. But still bis goes through wifi. I thought disabling it means the traffic will never go through wifi ,

 

is there any way to not use wifi for bis?

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,216
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

bis_b is an own transport, it automatically selects the available route
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
rihan007
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

Yes and that is the problem, I don't want it to select wifi basically. Looks like the only way is to turn off wifi radio programatically then . Any thine else you can think of Simon?
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,216
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

no, i don't know a way to influence the transport, so i would guess disabling wifi would be the only solution.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
rihan007
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

Thanks simon
Please use plain text.