Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
rafo
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

Hi.

 

Stange situation. Could you please give me a hint, how can I overcome that ?

  1. I compiled and signed the application. Created alx-file.Two files are created "bb_application.cod" and "bb_application.alx"
  2. I ran Blackberry Desktop, ran Application Loader, and specified my project folder as files location and installed the app.
  3. I decided to change something in my application. I changed java-code, recompiled and signed the application. And also created alx-file.  
  4. I ran Blackberry Desktop, ran Application Loader, and saw that my application is already shown in Application Loader window as checked. When I clicked "Add" button and specified the location of updated alx file I get the following error message: "No additional applications designed for your device were found". 
The question - how can I update already installed application without uninstalling it? If I uninstall this application - all information stored into persistent store will be lost.
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Please use plain text.
Developer
Developer
gtj
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎07-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

[ Edited ]

Did you change the app's version?  That's what triggers the loader to update.

Once you "add" the app, the loader will automatically check for new versions.

 

Message Edited by gtj on 09-13-2008 01:19 PM
Please use plain text.
Developer
rafo
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

Yes I changed the application version number in JDE project properties window.

 

New version is greater (1.01) than version of existing app (1.0)

----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,599
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

[ Edited ]

Here is my take on what is happening here.

 

You have added an alx, to the App Loader, so it knows which cods you are trying to load to the device.  If you add another alx, with the same cods, it rejects this, telling you 'no additional applications'.  In this case, it should probably say 'application cods already added'.

 

Now the App Loader is sometimes its own worst enemy, but it tries to be clever and it will remember, for each alx you have added, the level of the alx.  So if you go in and change that alx to a later level, the app loader will tell you, that you need to update.  If you change it to an earlier level (i.e. lower) it will tell you that you are downgrading, and then will ignore the downgrade (which can be a might annoying...).  When doing this, in my experience, it takes no notice of the compilation date of the cod file - this is only done on the level details in the alx.

 

So in your case, you should just update the alx that the App Loader is pointing to each time you upgrade (and sign) the cods involved..

Message Edited by peter_strange on 09-14-2008 07:51 PM
Please use plain text.
Developer
rafo
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

alx file is also updated. Both files: cod and alx are updated.

 

alx file contains bigger version number: 1.01

 

existing application version is 1.0

 

could you please explain - what else shall I update in this case?

 

thank you.

----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Please use plain text.
Developer
Developer
gtj
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎07-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

I wonder if the loader doesn't like 1.01?  Maybe try 1.0.1 or 1.1 and see if that helps.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
rafo
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to update application via Blackberry Desktop

The source of the problem is in version number format.

 

If I want to use 1.01 version, the previous number has to be 1.00

 

In this case new version recognized properly.

 

Thank you. The issue is now solved.

----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Please use plain text.