Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Regular Contributor
IpiRon
My Device: Developer
Accepted Solution

Implement scaled bitmap as background for MainScree

Newbie here. Okay, I know there is a lot out there on this as I have just spent the better part of the holiday weekend trying to get this done. Here is what I'm trying to do:

1. I have a bitmap png file that is large enough to accomodate the largest screen size.

2. I need the title bar on a MainScreen.

3. I need to bitmap to scale down to fit the existing device's remaining no-scroll area as the background.

4. I am running OS 5.0 or above (am NOT interested in 4.x implementations)

5. Would like to use the setBackground(BackgroundFactory... stuff if possible.

First stuff I tried:

1. I can get the scaling done by using a routine I found in the posts that sizes an encoded image. This seems to work okay but it takes Display.getWidth and Display.GetHeight as parameters and the height will be off since it includes the height of the title bar.

2. I can pass the scaled bitmap to the setBackground(BackgroundFactory... stuff okay.

The problem is that the bottom of the image is cropped off by what appears to be the height of the title bar. So I then went on a safari trying to find a way to determine the height of the Title Bar. Was able to get the height by overriding the sublayout method as in one of the posts. This is nice but the sublayout doesn't fire until after the screen constructor which is where I would need the value to adjust the scaling. I also tried the override of the paint method (both in the screen and in a nifty seperate VerticalFieldManager(Thx to BB_DUDE).