Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
donturner
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
My Carrier: Vodafone

Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

Morning all, hopefully this will be a quick one.

 

Where can I download the standalone Eclipse plugin 1.3? 

 

I have scoured the forum, and searched the RIM site but all I can find is the install which includes the eclipse IDE (around 400MB). I have my eclipse IDE setup nicely the way I want it and don't want to have to re-install all my other plugins and re-configure a new IDE.

 

Thanks, Don  

Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Carrier: ***

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

Please use plain text.
Developer
donturner
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

Thanks but that's the version which includes the Eclipse IDE as well. I already have Eclipse, where is the standalone plugin?

Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Carrier: ***

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

This version of Eclipse plugin in distinction from the previous versions bundled with eclipse files.

 

I checked the download section of BB Developers site, and there is no additional options to download this plugin. Only the version bundled with eclipse inside.

Please use plain text.
Developer
donturner
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

I find it incredible that RIM can call this a "plugin" when in fact it only works with their bundled version of eclipse. It's not a plugin at all if it's not possible to plug it into anything!

 

It also appears that v1.1 of the plugin which was an actual plugin and worked with Eclipse 3.5 (Galileo) has been removed from the website as well.

 

Am I right in saying that the ONLY way to develop BlackBerry apps now is to download and install their version of Eclipse?  

 

If so, this is just plain stupid. What about all those developers who have setup Eclipse exactly how they want it, with loads of other software and config settings, do they have to start from scratch? I count myself lucky that I have a working environment with v1.1 of the plugin which I can use. 

 

Anyone care to comment?

Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Carrier: ***

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

Eclipse is not the only way to develop BB apps.

 

You may download BlackBerry JDE and use installed JDE along with BlackBerry Ant Tools with any contemporary IDE, such as Netbeans or IDEA

Please use plain text.
Developer
donturner
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

OK thanks, but if you want to use Eclipse then the only way is to download the RIM version and configure it from scratch?

Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Carrier: ***

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

Not checked by myself, but there is a way described here. Follow these instructions on the existing eclipse installation.

Please use plain text.
Developer
donturner
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

That doesn't work. RIM have removed the plugin from the update site: 

 

http://www.blackberry.com/go/eclipseUpdate/3.6/java

 

Only the SDKs are available for download.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Carrier: ***

Re: Install BlackBerry plugin into existing eclipse installation

In this case I see no easy way to overcome this situation, but there is a way, not too easy, but, I think, possible.

 

Download Eclipse 3.6 Helios Classic and unpack it into folder Folder1

 

Download BB Eclipse Plugin 1.3 and install it into folder Folder2

 

Use a folder comparison utility software to compare Folder1 and Folder2 to find out what files are related to BlackBerry Plugin only. And copy them to the existing working Eclipse installation.

Please use plain text.