Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
madansingh18
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

 Hi all,

 

I have two application one listener application as module and one main application. i don’t want to install both the application separately, Is there any way by which i can install both the application using one jad file.

 

Thanks

Madan

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
JCarty
Posts: 1,055
Registered: ‎01-25-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9650/BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

[ Edited ]

There is an UpdateJad tool provided with every plugin component pack and JDE install.

 

This tool combines necessary jad files into 1 JAD file so you can deploy more than one COD.

 

For Eclipse:

 

YOUR_ECLIPSE_FOLDER/plugins/net.rim.ejde.componentpackPACK_VERSION/components/bin

 

For JDE:

 

YOUR_JDE_FOLDER/bin

 

 

Usage: updatejad.exe -q -n <input.jad> [<additional.jad> ...
-q               Quiet mode
-n               No backup file
<input.jad>      File to be updated
<additional.jad> Other attributes to be added to input.jad

 

 

Jerome Carty - Follow jcarty on Twitter@jcarty | #webworks-dev / #BlackberryDev on irc.freenode.net | My Apps
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue.. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Please use plain text.
Developer
mohitsharma
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

suppose you have

sample1.jad  sample1.cod and

sample2.jad and sample2.cod

then to make sample1.jad to contain sample2.jad so that it can be used to install both the CODs.Do as follow:

updatejad.exe sample1.jad sample2.jad

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Please use plain text.
Developer
mohitsharma
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

I have got one problem with this approach on removing the app only one module gets removed.

Other module is still remaining there. That you have to remove again manually.

Does anybody have solution to this problem?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

When I install an application using a jad, and the application has multiple cods, when I remove that application again all associated cods are removed.

 

I suggest that you get your test device back into a state when it has NO versions of either cod or application on it and try the test again.  I suspect you had a hangover reference to the module as a result of a previous installation which is why it was not deleted. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
mohitsharma
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

Hi Peter,Thanks for your suggestions.

I tried as you said making sure none of the versions is there.

But still of the two modules(CODs) one is removed and other is left there.

That other module(COD) I have marked as a System module, so that its not visible on homescreen while using it, my first COD is using the scond one at some point during its operations.

 

But problem is that I install the app and uninstall it even without launching it once. It still leaves this other module which i marked as System module there, which i have to delete manually.

 

Can you lead me somewhere with this weird problem?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
yourstrulyshankar
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
My Device: Blackberry 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

Hi Mohit,

 

Strangely i ran into the same issue for the exact scenario.

 

I have 2 cods, one is system module background app and other is normal app with UI.

 

I updated them like: UpdateJad.exe -n backgroundApp.jad normalApp.jad and downloaded backgroundApp.jad over the air.

 

All went well but the same problem, i un-installed normalApp which i can see in downloads folder, the backgroundApp still remains in the Applications under Options even after re-starting the device.

 

 

Found any solution?

 

Could you please share it?

-Shankar
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
yourstrulyshankar
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
My Device: Blackberry 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

anyone??

-Shankar
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

[ Edited ]

Any chance of seeing the jad you are using?

 

Are you installing using the jad OTA or via javaloader?

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
yourstrulyshankar
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
My Device: Blackberry 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Install two cod files using one jad file (OTA)

[ Edited ]

 


peter_strange wrote:

Any chance of seeing the jad you are using?

 

Are you installing using the jad OTA or via javaloader?


 

Thanks Peter, atlast someone heard!

My jad link http://www.4shared.com/file/5cxDXHwx/UIApp.html (names faked)

I am installing it OTA.

 

These points may give you a better picture

 

1. My UIApp is of big size so i extracted(using bb-ant-tool's jadtool tag) the sibling cod files.

2. BackGround applation is of type 'Application' and its a SystemModule with autostart property

3. I moved all UIApp cods, jad files and BGApp cod, jad to bin folder of JDE

4. Executed, UpdateJad.exe UIApp.jad BGApp.jad

5. downloaded UIApp.jad OTA

 

After download, BGApp imeediatly started and connected to server.

 

I removed UIApp from downloads menu. But under Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications -> UIApp is still exists even i re-started the device after un-installation.

 

If i directly un-installs UIApp from Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications both got un-installed.

 

I tried the reverse procedure even

UpdateJad.exe BGApp.jad UIApp.jad

and downloaded BGApp.jad OTA

 

I removed UIApp from downloads menu. But under Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications -> BGApp is still exists even i re-started the device after un-installation.

 

I am not very familiar with BB as this is my first project.

Please correct me if doing anything wrong.

 

-Shankar
Please use plain text.