Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
tonyhanu
My Device: Not Specified

Installing and Running as Application

I am a newbie to BB development so please excuse me if this seems basic. I have written a simple application using standard MIDP stuff - no BB specific stuff in it. I have run it in the Sun Wireless Toolkit Simulator. I ported the code into the BB JDE and built it and tried to run it in the simulator. There is no icon for it. I can look in Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications and I can see it there but I don't know how to run it. I tried the same thing on my real BB and installed the application with Desktop Manager. It shows up in the Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications listing but I can't find a way to run it. What am I missing?

Thanks

Please use plain text.
New Developer
tonyhanu

Re: Installing and Running as Application

Oops...that should be Installing and Running an Application (not as Application)
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange

If you are using JDE 4.6 or above, look in the Downloads folder.  Pre 4.6, look for anicon on the ribbon.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
tonyhanu

I am using JDE 4.7 with simulator for 8310. I am not sure what you mean by the Downloads folder. I don't seem to have one on either the device or the simulator or in the JDE.

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Developer
RexDoug

You cannot run 4.7 with the simulator for the 8310 - this is the root of your issue.

If you run 4.7, then you must run the Storm simulator.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
tonyhanu