Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
bzubert
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

Correct.  MapField is being suggested as a workaround for the 4.6 issue where the Invoke API is failing with a RuntimeException. 

 

As for landmarks, as you indicated, you would need to draw them to the map yourself, switching between world and field coordinates using convertWorldToField().  Calls to Locator.geocode() will also assist with mapping your landmarks. 

Brian Zubert
Technical Partnership Manager
Research In Motion
Please use plain text.
New Developer
rsudama
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

So it's been about 6 months now, I'm using 4.7.0.41, and this issue still seems to be there. Is there any other fix available, or any plan to provide one? Frankly, the "workaround" is pretty useless, and so is the maps utility if it can't be controlled by an application.
Please use plain text.
Developer
Developer
gtj
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎07-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

This issue was fixed in subsequent releases of 4.6 and 4.7.  

It works now on 4.6.0.247 and 4.7.0.148.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
rsudama
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

That's great, I'd really like to check it out. Unfortunately, I really can't figure out how you go about obtaining and installing an update to the SDK. I've re-installed the 4.7.0 JDE and the version is still at 4.7.0.41. Any help on that subject? If I can get the new version I'd be glad to report on whether the fix is working.
Please use plain text.
Developer
konic
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

Same here: does anybody know where can I get simulators with these versions 4.6. and 4.7
Please use plain text.
New Developer
stsmith
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
My Device: Pearl - Strom
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

I am also currenlty having this problem.  Is there a new OS 4.7 component pack I can grab?  For me it works on all devices except the Strom.....

Please use plain text.
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,449
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Invoke Map application causes RuntimeException

i'm having the same issue running on BB9800 sim.

 

the following from OS6 docs does not work on the sim

 

Example 1: Invoke BlackBerry Map with Local search parameters:
MapsArguments mapsArgs = new MapsArguments(MapsArguments.ARG_LOCAL_SEARCH, "hotel", "Ottawa");
Invoke.invokeApplication(Invoke.APP_TYPE_MAPS, mapsArgs);

 

gives illegalThread error

 

Please use plain text.