If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
mazmellow
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application?

Hi everyone,

 

 

Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application? 

 

My application want to scan Wi-Fi network around device, and notify user. So user can select which connection they prefer and pass username/password for that Wi-Fi network  ( like config them via Menu >> Manage Connections >> Set Up Wi-Fi Network >> Scan For Networks, in device. )

 

 

Very Thank,

Maz

Please use plain text.
Developer
tek3
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application?

[ Edited ]

I think this facility is not available in devices running any OS pre 5.0 .

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application?

And post OS 5.0 this will only search for public (non encrypted) networks

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
mazmellow
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application?

Peter,  How can I search and list public Wi-Fi networks?  Is this involved with

 

net.rim.device.api.wlan.hotspot or net.rim.device.api.io.transport packages ?

 


Thx,

Maz

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application?

net.rim.device.api.io.transport.HotspotInfo I believe.  There have been other forum entries about this question,  I recommend a search. 

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
mazmellow
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is there anyway to scan the Wi-Fi network via native application?

Thank for Information !  :smileywink:

Please use plain text.