Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
azdragon2
My Device: 9530
Accepted Solution

Linker multiply defined revisited

hey guys,

So I'm running into this classic problem:

Class 'util.ArrayList' multiply defined.
Linker error: 'VerifyError' for ProjectName
Error starting ProjectName: Class 'util.ArrayList' multiply defined.

So what happened is I'm using the 8800 simulator. I've been using it to run my program for 8 months. And all of a sudden when I try to run my program it will crash and I can't run it anymore. Now the same thing happened with me for the Bold emulator about 4 months ago. The curve 8300 still works but I'm running out of working simulators...What is causing this?

I've already scoured the RIM directory and deleted all of my project files. I've already run clean.bat. I've already selected Clean All and Build All in the IDE. I've deleted my local cod and setup files and rebuilt them. util.ArrayList is not multiply defined. It is some kind of corruption. Short of reinstalling the simlator (which I'm unsure if it will fix the problem), has anyone fixed this problem or have any advice?

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Linker multiply defined revisited

ArrayList is your own class? Do you use it in a library? Is it persistable?
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
azdragon2

yes, its my own ArrayList class.

public class ArrayList implements Persistable