Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

MenuItems on Bold

I have a problem with the new BlackBerry Bold device. When I open a menu in my application and highlight a menuitem the font of this item is cut off on top. It's pure cosmetical, but nevertheless - maybe there's an easy fix.

New Developer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: MenuItems on Bold

 

Here's a screenshot

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,017
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: MenuItems on Bold

Please report this issue to betadevsupport@rim.com.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,017
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: MenuItems on Bold

This issue has been sent to our development team.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: MenuItems on Bold

Hey Guys,

 

Can anyone from RIM confirm whether this was fixed?  I'm still able to reproduce this on the final version of the simulator.  I'm sure there's some particular way of going about things that would cause this to happen, and if I know what it is, I can avoid it.  Anyone know the workaround?

 

Best, 

Fred 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,017
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: MenuItems on Bold

This has not been fixed in the BlackBerry Bold Simulator included in the version 4.6.0 BlackBerry JDE.

 

This is caused by setting the default font for an application.  The work around is to change the font at the screen level, not application level.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: MenuItems on Bold

Hi!

 

may be that is a temporary solution for you;

 

yourMenuItem.getTarget().setFont(deviceDefaultFont);

 

New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: MenuItems on Bold

Great - that's easy enough.

 

Thanks! 

New Developer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: MenuItems on Bold

Hi - I am seeing the exact same problem in my application. I don't really understand the solutions described here - in my app I am not setting the font at any "application level", I am only setting a custom font in the Graphics object for my screens, for example:

 

gr.setFont (myFont);

 

This code does not mess up menus on any earlier devices,I am just seeing it on the bold.

 

I also tried the other suggestion

 

yourMenuItem.getTarget().setFont(deviceDefaultFont);

 

I call it in my makeMenu, but this throws an exception since getTarget seems to be returning a null Field object.

 

Did this really solve the problem? Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks,

Glenn

New Developer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: MenuItems on Bold

hey guys, I am having the same problem. I need to know whether the problem is with the simulator only or the Menu Items will behave the same (i.e. font getting cut off at the top) on the actual device??

 

Your prompt response will be highly appreciated.