Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
graymatter
My Device: Torch 9850

Monitoring the message store

Hello all!

While I'm certainly not new to programming, I'm still very new to java and application development on the BlackBerry.  To get my feet wet I wanted to build a simple application for a friend.  The purpose of the application is to provide a homescreen icon which provides information on the current number of unread messages (be they email, SMS, MMS etc).  Effectively, a larger version of the notification icon that appears in the notification area.

So far I have come up with the following:

package net.graymatteronline.messagebuddy;

import net.rim.device.api.system.Bitmap;
import net.rim.device.api.ui.Color;
import net.rim.device.api.ui.Graphics;
import net.rim.device.api.ui.UiApplication;
import net.rim.blackberry.api.mail.Session;
import net.rim.blackberry.api.mail.Store;
import net.rim.blackberry.api.mail.event.StoreEvent;
import net.rim.blackberry.api.mail.event.StoreListener;
import net.rim.blackberry.api.homescreen.HomeScreen;
import net.rim.blackberry.api.mail.NoSuchServiceException;
import net.rim.device.api.applicationcontrol.ApplicationPermissions;
import net.rim.device.api.applicationcontrol.ApplicationPermissionsManager;

public class MessageBuddy extends UiApplication implements StoreListener
{
    /**
     * Entry point for application
     */ 
    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
    	if (args[0].equals("Icon")) {
    		checkPermissions();
    		updateHSIcon();
    		System.exit(0);
    	}

if (args[0].equals("AutoStart")) {
    		MessageBuddy theApp = new MessageBuddy();
    		theApp.enterEventDispatcher();
    	}
    }

public MessageBuddy()
    {
    	// Check and request (if necessary) permissions
    	checkPermissions();