Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
Axalianxa
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
My Device: curve 9300

My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

Good Day

 

I developed an application for a blackberry curve 9300. This application is to take data from the GPS device and sent to a server located in my network.


This application starts when you turn thedevice. The application runs in the background so the user does not notice.

My problem is that the application in the emulator works perfectly, however when I install the application on the device and then execute this application  this application does nothing.

 

I Complete the form to apply digital signatures, receives the three files and sign the code with this files but still not working. I wonder if it is necessary to pay for a license or something. Please help me I'm new in this pataform and I need help.

Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

There are many issues that can cause an applicaiton to run on the simulator but not on the device. You'll have to perform some problem determination.

 

For example, have you viewed the device event log to see if your app is throwing an exception when starting?

 

Have you tried debugging on the device?

 

New Contributor
Axalianxa
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
My Device: curve 9300

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

Thanks for replying RexDoug


I debug my application and see the event log and the application is not throwing any exception. Also I debugging the aplicacion on the device and behaves in the same way as when I debug in the emulator. 

 

In the blackberry  simulator output console get the following message stack:

 

No debug information found for 'SecurIDLib' (456c5107).
[0.0] JVM: bklt[1] @225375: JvmBacklightEnableFor 30 ()
[0.0] JVM: bklt[1]: setTimeout 30
[0.0] VM:-DA 0
[0.0] VM:IGCSc=0
[0.0] VM:+GC(f)w=9
[0.0] VM:-GCt=8,b=1,r=0,g=f,w=9
[0.0] VM:QUOT t=1
[0.0] VM:+CR
[0.0] VM:-CR=3
[0.0] VM:smileytongue:ISVt=0,h=349a,id=9a15b00dba73bc69
[0.0] VM:TRJFp=Consola
[0.0] net_rim_locationapi(4D67657B)
[0.0] LocationProvider$ListenerThread
[0.0] run
[0.0] 0x676D
[0.0] VM:TRJFp=Consola
[0.0] net_rim_locationapi(4D67657B)
[0.0] LocationProvider$ListenerThread
[0.0] run
[0.0] 0x676D
[0.0] VM:TRJFp=Consola
[0.0] net_rim_locationapi(4D67657B)
[0.0] LocationProvider$ListenerThread
[0.0] run
[0.0] 0x676D

 

Where consola is the name of my application, I do not know if there are any error or exception that is present in the message stack but I don't think so.

 

Thanks again for your help



Trusted Contributor
pli
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎09-04-2011
My Device: Bold

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

For me to debug this case, I would add detailed logging at code and see where we don't see logging any more, so we could drill into that code to understand.  You could either log to a file or event viewer.  My app logs to log file since there is no API to collect the event log programatically. 

Trusted Contributor
NGeldenhuys
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Bold 9780 & Curve 8250

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

Hello maybe you guys can help me...

 

I am using eclipse 1.5.0 plug-in and JDE 1.6. 

 

My codes run on the emulator but not on the blackberry devices. I tried running a demo code from eclipse to make sure the problem was not  within my code. The project downloads to my phone but when I click on the Icon nothing happens

 

Please help urgently

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,610
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

@NGeldenhuys: Welcome to the forums.

 

It is not considered good practice to hijack other peoples Threads.  This problem was specific to Location, yours appears to be a general problem.

 

There are quite a range of issues that could cause your problem and unsurprisingly, a lot of people have hit these problems before.  Rather than repeat the possible problems here, I suggest you search the forum.  I think the keywords:

runs on emulator not on device

will find a number of useful Threads.

 

The Search box is near top right hand side if you have missed it. 

 

Start a new Thread if nothing you find helps.

 

Cheers

Trusted Contributor
NGeldenhuys
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Bold 9780 & Curve 8250

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

Thank you for your Politeness. My bad On hijacking a thread didnt even know that was possible, but thanks for the tip!

Contributor
sijilian
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-30-2012
My Device: os6

Re: My application runs in the emulator but not in the device

make ApplicationPermissions.PERMISSION_LOCATION_DATA ,PERMISSION_LOCAL_CONNECTIONS,PERMISSION_LOCATION_API to ApplicationPermissions.VALUE_ALLOW