Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
Rebelllious
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: MTS UKR
Accepted Solution

Need some explanation on alternate entry points

Hi everyone.

I'm rather new to BB development, as well as to development in general. Just trying to get how everything works, and sometimes unable to understand it.

I have an application already. For now it uses only one main screen, no matter from where it is run (either from application icon or from the systemwide menu item I added). What I need is to push different screens on different ways of running the app:

1. When the app is run from the icon in the home screen, I need to push the MainScreen, which is OK (at least it is done so for now and I know how it goes);

2. When the app is run from the menu item, I need it push a completely different screen, which is actually a popup screen (designed to popup over the application it is run from). I have already written the popup screen class, but don't really get how I should manage both screens in the MyApp class...

Any help will be appreciated.

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Need some explanation on alternate entry points

this KB shows you how to use an alternate entry point:
http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Set-up-an-alternate-entry-point-for-an-appli...

basically your main method is called with a different parameter, allowing you to react differently.

you have several options:
- keep the special UI in your menu item, no need to launch your app
- launch with an alternate entry point to display something else
- launch the app normally and send a global event to let it do something special
----------------------------------------------------------