Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
igbb
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

Hi,

 

I am integrating the new BBM6 Beta into an application but when I run it on a simulator/device that does not have it installed I get the "Error starting xxx: Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found".

 

My question is how do it code the application so that I don't get the error on devices where BBM6 isn't installed?

 

Ie it just runs without the BBM6 integration functionalty

Please use plain text.
Contributor
vinaybhavsar17
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

I am having the same problem.

Please let me know if you find any solution.

 

Thank you

Please use plain text.
Developer
morganbelford
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

Me too.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
keraisureshv
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

i am facing same problem..

Please use plain text.
Contributor
pinturic
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-15-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

Hi,

 

 

I am having the same problem; is it possible at least to detect the BBM is missing and propose to the user a download ?

Please use plain text.
Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

[ Edited ]

Did you try using CodeModuleManager?

 

        handle = CodeModuleManager.getModuleHandle("net_rim_bb_qm_platform");

Please use plain text.
Contributor
pinturic
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-15-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

Hi,

 

my understanding is that the error appears since Blackberry Messenger 6.0 is not installed; RIM will provide it in version 6.1 of the OS and maybe in some 5.0 OSes.

 

 

 

        handle = CodeModuleManager.getModuleHandle("net_rim_bb_qm_platform"); 

 

this is not a solution since the application is not even starting... 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
JKDESAI
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

Hello All,

 

I am facing the same issue. There are 2 important points I want to share:

 

1. While I am running my application on the device having OS v6.0 and Blackberry Messenger version 6.0, it is working perfectly.

From Options -> Device -> application management -> Blackberry Messenger - I can see the module net_rim_bb_qm_platform in the list of available modules.

 

2. While I am running my application on device having OS version 5.0 and Blackberry Messenger version 5.0.x.x, It is not working at all and giving the error "Module net_rim_bb_qm_platform not found".

From Options -> Applications -> Add ons -> Blackberry Messenger - I can not see this module in available module list.

 

Is there any resolution of this issue?

 

If the application is starting at all, how can we check for the module?

 

Please let me know if anyone get solution of this.

 

Thanks.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
johanguzman07
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
My Device: Not a blackberry user

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

Greetings.

For those who use Eclipse as development environment and the blackberry simulators for tests, be sure to be running the BBM SDK Simulator instead of the provided by Eclipse.

You can assure that doing the following:

1. Open the run configuration for your project.
2. Go to the Simulator tab.
3. In the General subtab, in the combo box for Device selection, choose "SimPackage-6.0.0.313_9800 - 9800".

It will probably solve your problem.

I hope that help.

Let me know if this was helpful or if you have a solution.

Johan Guzmán - In case my answer pleased you, give a press to the LIKE button, please!! Mark this post as solution if it solved your problem.
Please use plain text.
Developer
RileyGB
Posts: 284
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
My Device: Z10

Re: New BBM6 Module 'net_rim_bb_qm_platform' not found

http://us.blackberry.com/developers/blackberrymessenger/

 

You need to follow step 3 and implement the dependency checker. I still don't understand how you could have two apps and compile them into one submission yet. But this is the solution to detecting BBM6.



Follow me on twitter @RileyGB - https://twitter.com/RileyGB
View my BB10 OpenSource projects - https://github.com/RileyGB/BlackBerry10-Samples
Please use plain text.