Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
bb_bank
My Device: Not Specified

New to BB development - Suggestion Needed

Hi,

I am a java developer but new to BB development. I am starting bb development in view of the upcoming storefront. Now, I am going to purchase a blackberry device for development.

1. I request your suggestion to purchase which blackberry.. storm / bold / curve ?

2. Do the storefront going to support storm ?

3. Which bb device having the largest user base ?

4. Any suggestions for a new developer ?

Your help will be greately appreciated. Thank you.

Developer
johnbibs
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: New to BB development - Suggestion Needed

hey,

if your just starting, i don't think you need to buy an actual device. RIM provides simulators for storm, bold and curve. just download the JDE then read the developer's guide. 

with regards to your query on the largest user base? here in the philippines i think curve is the most common unit for now. storm is not yet available here. 

New Developer
bb_bank

Hi, Yes. I already downloded the simulator and JDE. Going to try it but eventually I will buy a device sooner or later.Do the BB APIs support the new features in storm like touch interface, accelarometer etc yet?

The potential buyers might be from NA and EU.. so I think my application should support the mostly used models in those region and to support other models as many as possible.

In the case iphone appstore, that is a new platform so app building just started. What would be case for BB. I am sure that there might be huge number of applications already available but if any one can give some idea abt the existing scenario that will be great.

Thank you Johnbibs

Developer
johnbibs