Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon
Accepted Solution

New to Eclipse

I just recently downloaded Eclipse and moved my Blackberry Apps over from the Blackberry JDE to Eclipse. Everything seemed to be going over fine but I ran into two problems.

 

First is dependences are not working, Eclipse says that it can not find the dependences and won't let me compile Apps that I have been using for a while. How do I get the dependences working in Eclipse?

 

Second is I have a veriety of other files that I use (just to keep track of different ideas I have for the app) and I want them to be part of the project but to not be compiled into my app. How do I exclude files from an Eclipse Blackberry project?

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New to Eclipse

Is there anyone who uses Eclipse who has encountered these problems before?
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New to Eclipse

I figured out the first question. {Project Properties}->Java Build Path->Projects->Add (add the projects that you epend on).

 

Does anyone know how to exclude a file from a project in Eclipse?

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Developer
Ted_Hopp
Posts: 1,305
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New to Eclipse

Go to {Project Properties}->Java Build Path->Source, select a source folder and click the Edit button. Click Next and then you can muck with the inclusion and exclusion properties for that path.



Solved? click "Accept as solution". Helpful? give kudos by clicking on the star.
Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New to Eclipse

Perfect, Thank you.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Visitor
jtplawton
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-14-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: New to Eclipse

HI people hope you can help.

 

I am new to Eclipse using the following JRE

Blackberry JRE 5.0.0

 

I want to do a straight connect to an SQL database as we use BES so users

can gain access to our internal network. I can create the connection in Java JRE6 using MS JDBC Driver,

but I am unable to do this using the Blackberry JRE 5.0.0 as it do not include lib java.sql.

Using Connection string as follows

 

Import java.sql.*;

try

{

 

// Load Microsoft JDBC Driver 1.0

Class.forName(

"com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerDriver"

);

 

 

// Obtaining a connection to SQL Server

con = DriverManager.getConnection(

 

"jdbc:sqlserver://ServerIP;"

+

"user=USERNAME;password=PASSWORD;"

+

"database=DATABASENAME"

);

 

 

// Print Message

 

System.out.println("Connection Successful ");

 

Hope you can help, I don't really want to go down the root of SQLlite

Because that I would need to sync the data from the users handsets

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New to Eclipse

Welcome to the forums.

 

Please make a new post with your question, thank you.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
pmaurizi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
My Device: 8300
My Carrier: personal

Re: New to Eclipse

Hi, sorry by mi english, I'm argentine.

Could you find the solution for this problem?

I also can't import java.sql.* from a Blackberry project using Eclipse.

Thanks 

Bye.

Pablo Maurizi

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New to Eclipse

You didn't really post a question. java.sql does not exist on BlackBerry because it is J2SE and BlackBerry is J2ME.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
pmaurizi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
My Device: 8300
My Carrier: personal

Re: New to Eclipse

ok, thanks for your help. And then, it exists any way to do that?  I say, to connect to an SQL Server. 

Thanks again.

Bye.

Please use plain text.