Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

Hi MSohm,

 

I have tried as per your suggestion. My batch file for running the simulator is as below:

 

9900.bat :-

 

@echo off 
fledge.exe /app-param=MdsIP=127.0.0.1 /app=Jvm.dll /handheld=9900 /session=9900 /app-param=DisableRegistration /app-param=JvmAlxConfigFile:9900.xml /data-port=0x4d44 /data-port=0x4d4e /pin=0x2100000A

 

In my rimpublic.property file, I have set properties as below:

[HTTP HANDLER]
application.handler.http.logging = true
application.handler.http.CookieSupport = true
application.handler.http.AuthenticationSupport = true
application.handler.http.AuthenticationTimeout = 3600000
application.handler.http.device.connection.timeout = 120000 
application.handler.http.server.connection.timeout = 120000
application.handler.http.proxyEnabled = true
application.handler.http.proxyHost=[my proxy address]
application.handler.http.proxyPort=80


[HTTPS HANDLER]
application.handler.https.allowUntrustedServer = true

 

 

I can access my company's intranet, but I cannot access to internet. I have checked no other service is running on the port configured in rimpublic. Please suggest how can I solve this issue.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,264
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

Do you see activity in the MDS-CS Simulator window when you attemp to browse to the Internet?  If so please paste the text you see.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

Hi Mark,

 

Below is the log which I can see while starting the MDS server on clicking run.bat:

 

 

SCM 5.0.1.41 41 2010-03-05 09:24:19
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.456 IST>:[0]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = J2S
E 1.6.0_33 Charsets supported:Big5,Big5-HKSCS,EUC-JP,EUC-KR,GB18030,GB2312,GBK,I
BM-Thai,IBM00858,IBM01140,IBM01141,IBM01142,IBM01143,IBM01144,IBM01145,IBM01146,
IBM01147,IBM01148,IBM01149,IBM037,IBM1026,IBM1047,IBM273,IBM277,IBM278,IBM280,IB
M284,IBM285,IBM297,IBM420,IBM424,IBM437,IBM500,IBM775,IBM850,IBM852,IBM855,IBM85
7,IBM860,IBM861,IBM862,IBM863,IBM864,IBM865,IBM866,IBM868,IBM869,IBM870,IBM871,I
BM918,ISO-2022-CN,ISO-2022-JP,ISO-2022-JP-2,ISO-2022-KR,ISO-8859-1,ISO-8859-13,I
SO-8859-15,ISO-8859-2,ISO-8859-3,ISO-8859-4,ISO-8859-5,ISO-8859-6,ISO-8859-7,ISO
-8859-8,ISO-8859-9,JIS_X0201,JIS_X0212-1990,KOI8-R,KOI8-U,Shift_JIS,TIS-620,US-A
SCII,UTF-16,UTF-16BE,UTF-16LE,UTF-32,UTF-32BE,UTF-32LE,UTF-8,windows-1250,window
s-1251,windows-1252,windows-1253,windows-1254,windows-1255,windows-1256,windows-
1257,windows-1258,windows-31j,x-Big5-HKSCS-2001,x-Big5-Solaris,x-euc-jp-linux,x-
EUC-TW,x-eucJP-Open,x-IBM1006,x-IBM1025,x-IBM1046,x-IBM1097,x-IBM1098,x-IBM1112,
x-IBM1122,x-IBM1123,x-IBM1124,x-IBM1364,x-IBM1381,x-IBM1383,x-IBM33722,x-IBM737,
x-IBM833,x-IBM834,x-IBM856,x-IBM874,x-IBM875,x-IBM921,x-IBM922,x-IBM930,x-IBM933
,x-IBM935,x-IBM937,x-IBM939,x-IBM942,x-IBM942C,x-IBM943,x-IBM943C,x-IBM948,x-IBM
949,x-IBM949C,x-IBM950,x-IBM964,x-IBM970,x-ISCII91,x-ISO-2022-CN-CNS,x-ISO-2022-
CN-GB,x-iso-8859-11,x-JIS0208,x-JISAutoDetect,x-Johab,x-MacArabic,x-MacCentralEu
rope,x-MacCroatian,x-MacCyrillic,x-MacDingbat,x-MacGreek,x-MacHebrew,x-MacIcelan
d,x-MacRoman,x-MacRomania,x-MacSymbol,x-MacThai,x-MacTurkish,x-MacUkraine,x-MS93
2_0213,x-MS950-HKSCS,x-MS950-HKSCS-XP,x-mswin-936,x-PCK,x-SJIS_0213,x-UTF-16LE-B
OM,X-UTF-32BE-BOM,X-UTF-32LE-BOM,x-windows-50220,x-windows-50221,x-windows-874,x
-windows-949,x-windows-950,x-windows-iso2022jp>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.476 IST>:[1]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Def
aultJobPool Pool size = 10>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.477 IST>:[2]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Def
aultJobPool Queue length = 20>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.477 IST>:[3]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, maxMem: 477
233152 maxPoolSize: 10>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.488 IST>:[4]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Loa
ded network provider: 0/Windows/Native>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.490 IST>:[5]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Def
ault network provider : Windows/Native>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.491 IST>:[6]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Ini
tializing network connection cache connPerPrincipal=2 connTimeToLive=300000>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.525 IST>:[7]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = The
push service is ready to receive requests>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.536 IST>:[8]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Con
nected, TOPSERVICE = SRPH, LOWERSERVICE = GME>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.537 IST>:[9]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Con
nected, TOPSERVICE = IPPP, LOWERSERVICE = GME>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.537 IST>:[10]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Co
nnected, TOPSERVICE = GME, LOWERSERVICE = MDP>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.537 IST>:[11]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Co
nnected, TOPSERVICE = MDP, LOWERSERVICE = GPAK>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.538 IST>:[12]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Co
nnected, TOPSERVICE = GPAK, LOWERSERVICE = UDP>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.548 IST>:[13]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<EVENT>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = MD
S-CS MDS_STARTMDS; >
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.577 IST>:[14]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = MDP, EVENT = In
itialization>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.577 IST>:[15]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = MDP, EVENT = St
arted>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.579 IST>:[16]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = MDP, EVENT = St
arted, THREAD = MdpLayerHigherLayerListeningThread:GME>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.579 IST>:[17]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = MDP, EVENT = St
arted, THREAD = MdpLayerLowerLayerListeningThread:GPAK>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.579 IST>:[18]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = MDP, EVENT = St
arted, THREAD = MdpLayerDatagramGC>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.584 IST>:[19]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = UDP, EVENT = In
itialization>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.584 IST>:[20]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = UDP, EVENT = St
arted>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.585 IST>:[21]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = UDP, EVENT = St
arted, THREAD = UdpLayerReceiverThread>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.586 IST>:[22]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = UDP, EVENT = St
arted, THREAD = UdpLayerSenderThread:GPAK>
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:22 AM org.apache.catalina.startup.Embedded start
INFO: Starting tomcat server
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:22 AM org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngine start
INFO: Starting Servlet Engine: Apache Tomcat/6.0.18
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.918 IST>:[23]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = IPPP, Sending Q
ueue Size per device =200>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.925 IST>:[24]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = IPPP, Receiving
Queue Size =20>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.925 IST>:[25]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = De
faultJobPool Queue length = 20>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.928 IST>:[26]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, LAYER = I
PPP, EVENT = Started>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.930 IST>:[27]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SRPH, LAYER = S
RPH, EVENT = Initialization>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.931 IST>:[28]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ConnectionsInputStreamesReader0>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.931 IST>:[29]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ConnectionsInputStreamesReader1>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.933 IST>:[30]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<INFO >:<maxMem: 477233152 maxQu
eueSize: 250>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.933 IST>:[31]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ConnectionsInputStreamesReader2>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.934 IST>:[33]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ListenForClientsPackets>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.935 IST>:[34]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ConnectionsInputStreamesReader4>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.934 IST>:[32]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ConnectionsInputStreamesReader3>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.936 IST>:[35]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = ListenOnDatagramStatus>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.936 IST>:[36]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SRPH, LAYER = S
RPH, EVENT = Started>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.938 IST>:[37]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SRPH, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = SRPHprotocolMainThread>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.938 IST>:[39]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SRPH, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = SRPHListenForClientsPackets>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.938 IST>:[40]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SRPH, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = SRPHListenOnDatagramStatus>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.938 IST>:[38]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = QueuesManager>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.940 IST>:[41]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SRPH, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = SRPHQueuesManager>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.941 IST>:[42]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = GPAK, EVENT = I
nitialization>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.942 IST>:[43]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = GPAK, EVENT = S
tarted>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.942 IST>:[44]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = GPAK, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = GpakLayerHigherLayerListeningThread:MDP>
<2013-04-04 10:06:22.943 IST>:[45]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = GPAK, EVENT = S
tarted, THREAD = GpakLayerLowerLayerListeningThread:UDP>
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:23 AM org.apache.catalina.startup.ContextConfig defaultWebConf
ig
INFO: No default web.xml
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:23 AM org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationContext log
INFO: AdministrationController (Status):init
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:23 AM org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationContext log
INFO: D:\Eclipse2\plugins\net.rim.ejde.componentpack7.1.0_7.1.0.10\components\MD
S
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:23 AM org.apache.tomcat.util.net.NioSelectorPool getSharedSele
ctor
INFO: Using a shared selector for servlet write/read
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:23 AM org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11NioProtocol init
INFO: Initializing Coyote HTTP/1.1 on http-8084
Apr 4, 2013 10:06:23 AM org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11NioProtocol start
INFO: Starting Coyote HTTP/1.1 on http-8084
<2013-04-04 10:06:23.251 IST>:[46]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, Web Server
Started>
<2013-04-04 10:06:27.428 IST>:[47]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Ad
min. Task- refresh media management>

 

=======================================================================================

 

My run.bat file is :

 

@ECHO OFF
call setBMDSEnv
start cmd /vSmiley Surprisedn /c "java.exe" -classpath !BMDS_CLASSPATH!;!BMDS_CLASSPATH2! -Xmx512M -Djava.endorsed.dirs=classpath\endorsed -DKeystore.Password=password net.rim.application.ipproxyservice.IPProxyServiceApplication -log.console.dump
:END

 

 

To add here, even if I don't start MDS server, then also on running simulator I can access Intranet sites. 

 

I also have one simulator of version 5. I can browse internet on this simulator. I have checked the configuration parameters and have tried them in version 7, but could not be able to connect to internet in version 7.

 

I am trying to access facebook from blackberry using the sdk provided by facebook. But when I try to run the application on version-5 simulator, I get error "net.rim.device.api.ui.scrollview not found" . I googled and borrowed suggestions from others that this error could occur because the build was done using higher version and it is tried on lower version (version-5). I even tried to build the facebook sdk code using eclipse bb simulator-5, but got the same error.

 

 

 

 

 

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,264
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

There is no sign here of the connection going through the MDS-CS Simulator.  Are you using the BlackBerry Browser or making a connection from your own application?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

I tried browsing through BB browser as well as I tried to connect using my application. In both cases, the internet is not accessible.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,264
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

For this parameter "/app-param=MdsIP=127.0.0.1" try to replace 127.0.0.1 with the actual IP address of your computer.  It's possible the MDS-CS Simulator isn't binding to 127.0.0.1.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

It seems it is binding to the 127.0.0.1. I tried opening 127.0.0.1:8084 (I changed the port no.) on chrome and I can see Data server connection service with below heading:

 

BlackBerry® Mobile Data Server Connection Service

 

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,264
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

The MDS-CS Simulator looks good then.  Can you verify that no firewall is blocking the BlackBerry smartphone simulator?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

Hi Mark,

 

I cannot see any firewall blocking the simulator. I can even browse internet using my version-5 BB simulator. I have checked of windows' firewall and found no firewall is acting in between. Could you please tell where I can verify more about whether the firewall (if any) is blocking.

 

And if this is not due to firewall, what else can be the reason for this issue?

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Not able to connect to internet through blackberry simulator

Could you also explain as to how a simulator identifies to which MDS server it should connect? Is there any configuration in the batch or xml of the simulator for the same? Suppose I have started 2 MDS server instances at different ports and then I start the simulator, then to which MDS the simulator will connect?

 

Also, could you pls explain what is IPPP and is there any role of this to connect to internet?