Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
lankenr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-23-2013
My Device: 9700

Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

Hi everyone!!!

The need of my app is to push my custom screen above the incoming call screen.

 

I am able to write some thing on the Incoming call screen, but in that case I am not able to use the full screen.

 

I tried very hard to do that but with no success!! as found in other threads, "pushGlobalScreen" works well on simulator, but throughs security exception on real device.

 

Is there any way to add a custom screen on top of the incoming call screen?

 

please help, any help is very much appriciated.

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,134
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

welcome to the support forums.

overriding the incoming call screen does not work, it has the highest priority which is reserved for RIM.

you can grab the foreground after the call is answered, or you can use the phonescreen api (since 5.0) to have some limited interaction with the native screen.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
lankenr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-23-2013
My Device: 9700

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

Thanks a lot SimonHain,

 

Actually, i was able to push the popup, but i have a keen interest in displaying the callers additional data without even picking up the call.

 

Isn't it possible on any version or by any other settings of blackberry to override the incoming call screen!

 

Thank you.

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,134
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

iirc it was possible on some old versions, but since 4.5 (or so, not sure, but for quite some time now) they have the security exception in place.

as i said, you can use the phonescreen api to display additional information, see http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/blackberry/api/phone/phonegui/PhoneScreen...
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
lankenr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-23-2013
My Device: 9700

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

 

Yes, but the area we are getting very low (we can add LabelFields etc, but that is displayed below the phone number on incoming call screen), and i want to utilize full screen.

 

Is it possible to write the data from top left corner on the incoming call screen?

 

if yes, that also can solve my issue. Please help me if it is possible.

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,134
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

no
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
lankenr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-23-2013
My Device: 9700

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

:smileysad:

 

I think i should conclude now that, we can not push a popup screen over incoming call screen. and i should drop the idea to do that.

 

 

Thanks any ways for contributing all this!!!

 

Navnath Lanke

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,134
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Overriding Incoming call screen with Custom screen

i was in the same situation a long time ago. you have to adjust your usecase around the possibilities.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.