Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
fdu4
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-12-2008

PAP push problem

Hallo!

 

I've wrote an client/server application mostly based on http push demo example coming with JDE.

 

When I test my application with an MDS-simulator and an device simulator, both PAP push and RIM push are working properly.

 

But with real device and real BES only RIM push works as expected, though both methods get same parameters.

 

PAP push is accepted by MDS with an 202 responce code, but the client application does not receive anything.

 

Please help me to figure out why this is happening.

 

MDS simulator runs in console mode, where the failure messages and codes are listed. Does something exist for the real MDS? If yes, where do I find it? If no, where can I find the failure information?

 

Also please check my related topic about canceling and checking delivery status for RIM push messages:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&thread.id=32360

 

Thank You in advance! .)

Please use plain text.
New Developer
fdu4
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-12-2008

Re: PAP push problem

no ideas? :smileysad:
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,065
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Carrier: Bell

Re: PAP push problem

A response of 2002 indicates that the BlackBerry Enterprise Server did not recognize the user you are trying to push to.  Are you using an email address or BlackBerry PIN in your push?  Note that you'll need to use an escape character for the @ symbol in a PAP push since it is not allowed with an XML parameter.

 

The information you see in the MDS Simulator window is logged in the MDAT log files for your BlackBerry Enterprise Server (MDS Connection Service).

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
New Developer
jayavelkirubanand
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-19-2009

Re: PAP push problem

<2009-11-30 15:57:56.122 GMT+05:30>:[268]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Notifying to URL = http://www.vojus.com, pushId = pushID:-1761954399, destination = 2100000A, result code = 5238 t.rim.protocol.iplayer.p
ush.b: Push connection aborted by device>

 

when i am runinng push app this error occur,how i solve this error?

Please use plain text.
New Developer
jayavelkirubanand
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-19-2009

Re: PAP push problem

 when i am runinng push app this error occur,how i solve this error?

 

<2009-11-30 16:42:45.406 GMT+05:30>:[337]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = Notifying to URL = http://www.vojus.com, pushId = pushID:-2018018890, destination = 2100000A, result code = 400 net.rim.protocol.iplayer.push.b: Push connection aborted by device>

Please use plain text.
New Developer
pramilathakur
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-17-2010
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: PAP push problem

Hi,

 

I wanted to test the PUSH service on simulator and asked if I can? but I was told that it cannot be tested.

 

Now I read this and I am curious to know how you did it.

 

Can you please let me know what are the tools I need?

 

I have thedevice simulator and the server running on my computer.

 

For the Gateway I want to use a Simulator. What can I use?

 

-- thanks

--Pramila

Please use plain text.
Developer
yyzTim
Posts: 304
Registered: ‎04-30-2008

Re: PAP push problem

I push to my simulator all the time.  I use RIM push but I wouldn't expect PAP to be a problem.  Just make sure your MDS-CS is running and that you have configured it (there is a doc in the kbase I think detailing a couple steps to configure it such as the push port).  For me I target MDS-CS using this address: ht tp://localhost:8080/ (make sure your pushing mechanism can find the address) and then the sim PIN (2100000A).  It is pretty simple really.

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
pramilathakur
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-17-2010
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: PAP push problem

Hi,

 

I am a bit confused. Can you point me to the kbase doc that you are talking about.

I installed the simulator 9550 and also have the older versions. Now on the new simulator I cannot even connect to the browser,

 

I think there is lots of configuration that I am missing.

Please help me help myself.

 

thanks to everyone

--pramila

Please use plain text.
Developer
raquibulbari
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎09-30-2009

Re: PAP push problem

read the readme.txt properly. I lost lots of hours then I read the readme and found that port 100 was blocked in mds simulator. read that first whoever is having problem with httppushdemo application.

----------------------
Press like if you find a message helpful
---------
Please use plain text.