Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
rishikeshsinghpbh
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Carrier: Airtel
Accepted Solution

PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

[ Edited ]

Hello all,

 

I need some clarification regarding Cellsite Mode.

 

I have tried to use Cellsite mode, and this works fine on BIS activated sim.

But on non-BIS network it does not give me location.

 

Also, the diagnosis code provided here-link is not working with the network, its giving LocationException:Timed Out while waiting for Geolocation.

 

So I want to know, if CELLSITE MODE is only available on BIS network?

 

If No, then what can be the problem in my case?

 

PS: Tested on Device 9900, Device Software 7.1.0.523 , Device Platform 5.1.0.393

Success and Failure both cases are tested on same place with same device with different SIM.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Rishikesh Singh
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 15,558
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

are both SIMs on the same carrier?
it should not be dependent on having BIS or not, but could be carrier dependent.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
rishikeshsinghpbh
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

[ Edited ]

Hi Simon, I have tested on 3 different carriers. But it works only on 1 with BIS.

 

Locations are also not available on Location Settings of Device with failed carrier network(But I have not mentioned that because that uses Device GPS).

 

Please suggest how I can use Cellists mode in this situation?

I can browse the web with the carrier but location API are not working.

 

Rishikesh Singh
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,513
Registered: ‎07-14-2008

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

Since cellsite location does involve communication with a Server i suspect that it might be BIS-B dependent, but I have never tested this.  I suggest you review the log on the device and see if the communication to obtain the cell site location, which from memory you can see in the log, is visible on all phones. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
rishikeshsinghpbh
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

[ Edited ]

Thanks peter for You reply.

 

But I didn't get you clearly on the following--

------------------------------------------------------

I suggest you review the log on the device and see if the communication to obtain the cell site location, which from memory you can see in the log, is visible on all phones.

----------------------------------------------------

 

What I interpret and do is --

 

Tried to use cellsite and see in event logs if anything comes out.

In logs I can not find any communication specific logs. It contains only timeout information.

 

Now I have tested with two sim from same carrier, one with Blackberry registration and another without.

 

Result :

Sim With Blackberry registration : Works

Other Sim : Not works.

 

So can we conclude that Blackberry registration is required for CELLSITE MODE??

Rishikesh Singh
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,065
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Carrier: Bell

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

There are two Cellsite modes available, one that uses your carrier's infrastructure and one that uses the BlackBerry Locate service.  The BlackBerry Locate Service also works over Wi-Fi.  Use of the BlackBerry Locate service would require a BlackBerry enabled data plan for BlackBerry OS 5-7.

 

You can see a list of all available modes in the article Location APIs – Start to finish.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
rishikeshsinghpbh
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

[ Edited ]

Thanks MSohm for your inputs.

 

As per my knowledge, BlackBerry Locate Service also works over Wi-Fi. is available on OS 6 -7.

 

I got little bit confused by yours following lines--

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------

There are two Cellsite modes available, one that uses your carrier's infrastructure and one that uses the BlackBerry Locate service.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I know only one way to use CELLSITE MODE that is described here-Location APIs – Start to finish.

 

It would be great if you can give more information how to get via your carrier's infrastructure(For me its seems like a whole new thing, so curious to know more).

 _____________________________________________


Use of the BlackBerry Locate service would require a BlackBerry enabled data plan for BlackBerry OS 5-7.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

By BlackBerry Locate service you are referring to ways mentioned here Location APIs – Start to finish. ???

 

Please revert.

Thanks in advance.

Rishikesh Singh
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,513
Registered: ‎07-14-2008

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

I think GPSInfo.GPS_MODE_CELLSITE is Carrier provided, where as LocationInfo.GEOLOCATION_MODE_CELL requires BIS-B. 

 

Have you tried thee Diagnostic application?  It can be used to try out all the possible location methods. 

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,065
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Carrier: Bell

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

The BlackBerry Locate Service can work over Wi-Fi or any data path, but does require a BlackBerry data plan.  It makes use of cell towers and Wi-Fi networks to determine your location.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
rishikeshsinghpbh
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: PLEASE CLARIFY!! Cellsite MODE dependency on network carrier

@peter_strange LocationInfo.GEOLOCATION_MODE_CELL is available from OS 6, so didn't give it a try.

 

I have tried GPSInfo.GPS_MODE_CELLSITE, But it only works when I have a blackberry data plan.

 

I have used Diagnostic application, and all the methods works correctly when tested with BlackBerry data plan.

 

As MSohm says--

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The BlackBerry Locate Service can work over Wi-Fi or any data path, but does require a BlackBerry data plan.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Will wait for some some hours for any more inputs otherwise will accept MSohn reply as solution.

Thank you all for your replies.

Rishikesh Singh
Please use plain text.