Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
hongguo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2010
My Device: 8310

Project dependency

Hi:

I am using eclipse plugin, I have project a, which is a library, and project b, which is a application, project b is depends on project a, as some of the code from project b call code from project a. 

The two projects compiled, but when I try to run it from simulator, it says the module has a verification error. remove the code that calls library code, it will work.

Please help.

Thanks a lot

Please use plain text.
Developer
BB-Dude
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Project dependency

Welcome to the BlackBerry forums. :smileyvery-happy:

 

Are both the library and application checked in the Debug Configuration of the simulator:

1 - Click the arrow next to the debug button

2 - Debug Configuration

3 - BlackBerry Simulator

4 - Your Simulator

5 - Projects Tab

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
hongguo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2010
My Device: 8310

Re: Project dependency

Tks that resolves the error.

 

However, the code in referenced library is not called, as I am using class.forName to load the libraray class. The reason for this, is that I need to use the libraries to customize the main application for different customer(for examples. provide different branding name and URL). What is the best way to do it?

Please use plain text.
Developer
BB-Dude
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Project dependency

I would design a library specifically for the branding part.

Include the app name, images, and everything else that has to do with branding.

I don't see a reason to use the Class.forName for the branding library.

I usually only us Class.forName for Factory classes to support multiple OS versions.

 

Hope this helps and good luck.

 

Also if your issue is solved please do mark the thread as solved.

 

Thank You

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
hongguo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2010
My Device: 8310

Re: Project dependency

Hi:

Thanks for you reply.

However, that means my main project has not know the libaray class to load it. 

Then if I have another corporate, I have to change main project as well as creating a new library. That would not make sense to use library at all.

Please use plain text.
Developer
BB-Dude
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Project dependency

I didn't understand this sentence:

"That means my main project has not know the library class to load it"!!

 

If another corporate wants your software you would only need to update the library and not the application. If you are updating your application for branding then you have something wrong in your design.

Please use plain text.