Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,528
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

RMS issue

Quote from the previous forum:


jdadon32

Posts: 2
From: Ireland
Registered: May, 2008

RMS issue
Posted: Jul 17, 2008 6:50 AM
 
Hi,
When i push an upgrade of my midlet to the device it clears the Record store
Whats the reson for that?can it be fixed?
Thanks


If an application is recompiled, it will not be able to access its existing RMS data stores. Because of the recompilation, the application is not considered to be the same as the previous version and will not be allowed access to the RMS data stores on the simulator. This feature is part of the persistent data access security architecture.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
New Developer
jeffbacon
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: RMS issue

If that is the case for MIDlets, then that is different behaviour than for RIMlets (Application, UIApplication, etc.). You can definately re-compile them and install them and read the RMS data. If you uninstall first it may delete the RMS data but installing the new version on top should persist the data in RMS from the previous version and allow the newly installed version to access it.
Jeff Bacon
http://about.me/jeffbacon
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,528
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: RMS issue

Update to my previous post:

 

The RMS RecordStore should remain when an application is upgraded. 

 

A BlackBerry handheld considers an update to be when you download an application which has the same MIDlet-Name and MIDlet-Vendor attributes and a different MIDlet-Version attribute of a MIDlet already on the device.

 

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.