Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
Developer
TEP
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

RadioButton Listener

[ Edited ]

I am a beginning programmer and have been trying to resolve my question in the quest of learning. However, I have spent quite a bit of time on this one area and was wondering of someone could help point me in the right direction.

To set the stage, I have two RadioButtonFields in a RadioButtonGroup. The RadioButtonGroup is set within a Layout manager so that I can display the rbf's on the screen where I want them. Anyway, I have coded some functions for the first button or index 0. I have not coded anything for the second button or index 1. I am attempting to have index 1 display a dialog.alert and then reset the choices so that a user could go back and select index 0 for the time being.

When index 1 is selected, the dialog.alert displays but when "ok" is selected and I go to select index 0,  I get a JVM Error 104, IllegalStateException. Can someone look at what I have coded and help me implement what I am trying to do the proper way? It will be most appreciated.

RadioButtonLayout rblType = new RadioButtonLayout();
final RadioButtonGroup rbgType = new RadioButtonGroup();

RadioButtonField rbfOne = new RadioButtonField(" One", rbgType, false);
rblType.add(rbfOne);

RadioButtonField rbfTwo = new RadioButtonField(" Two", rbgType, false);
rblType.add(rbfTwo);
vfmMain.add(rblType);

rbgType.setChangeListener(new FieldChangeListener() {
public void fieldChanged(Field field, int context) {
if (rbgType.getSelectedIndex() == 0) {
add(vfmBody1);
}
if (rbgType.getSelectedIndex() == 1) {
if (vfmBody1.isVisible() == true) {
delete(vfmBody1);

if (vfmBody2.isVisible() == true) {
delete(vfmBody2);
}
}