Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
guydor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎05-15-2011
My Device: 9700

Resources Files Max Size

Hi,

 

I have 2 database files about 4.5 mb each, when both of them added to the project resources I can't build my project ant launch the simulator.

 

Any solution for that?

 

 

Thanks!

Contributor
vercity
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Resources Files Max Size

The max size for resource is about 6MB. Also the src files.
Regular Contributor
guydor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎05-15-2011
My Device: 9700

Re: Resources Files Max Size

Thanks, is there any solution for that?
Can I use zip files and unzip them in the device memory card?
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,282
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Resources Files Max Size

you can extract the files from the sd card, or you could create library projects for them, or load them from a server, just to give you some options.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Regular Contributor
guydor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎05-15-2011
My Device: 9700

Re: Resources Files Max Size

Thanks!

 

Can I use zip files in the project resources and unzip them to the sd card or

to copy the zip files, unzip them in the sd card and then delete the copied zip files ?

 

 

 

Trusted Contributor
omar123456789
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-07-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Resources Files Max Size

try using GZIPInputStream and GZIPOutputStream

Developer
LMcRae
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎04-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Resources Files Max Size

Simon.  How will creating a library project help with the max size?  I had to cut most of the textures in half just to make my game fit.  I am revisiting this problem and was considering try ing to embed some of my resources right into the code but if you have a betetr way I would rather do that.

Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,282
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Resources Files Max Size

a separate library has it's own maxmimum. if you create 10 libraries you have 10 times the maximum...
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
LMcRae
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎04-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Resources Files Max Size

Booya!  Thank you I will check that out.

Regular Contributor
guydor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎05-15-2011
My Device: 9700

Re: Resources Files Max Size

What is a library in Eclipse?
How can I create a new library?

Thanks