Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
Paratheo
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: AT&T

Running a background thread. Need advice!

Hey all,

I am relatively new to Blackberry java development, in fact relatively new to Java itself. Have developed for Playbook and BB10 however. That is where I am coming from.

Anyway, making a simple application that pulls in the Bing image of the day and sets it as the device's homescreen image. I have an option in the application that can turn this 'automatic' functionality off. So can be toggled on and off.

Questions about this:

How should I go about running such a background process or daemon perhaps, that would pull the new image from bing everyday sometime early in the morning (2-3 am)? Btw, im not asking how to get the image, I have that under control. I am specifically talking about how i could best get this 'updating everyday' functionality.

Keep in mind im not totally familiar with these libraries and such, so im asking advice about what would best suit my needs based on info above.

I appreciate any and all help given.

Thanks,

Theodore M.

Domisy Dev

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Running a background thread. Need advice!

Be aware, I have never done this, so this is just theory.  But this is how I would try to do it, and then look at alternatives if this did not work.

The first thing is you need your app to start up when the device starts up - so you set auto-start.

Then the question is, what sort of application is it?  There are really two sorts, foreground, which extend UiApplication and background which just extend Application.  So I think you need to start an Application since this part of the processing does not need any User Interface.  More on adding a User interface in a bit.