Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Contributor
jefferyabaker
My Device: 8830 World Edition
My Carrier: Verizon

SDK to capture forensic image

Hello.

I'm a forensic analyst looking for specific direction on using the SDK to access Flash memory and acquire a bit-for-bit image of it. I've found a number of postings on various forums that it can be done with SDK utilities; but have not seen anyone describe exactly how. No help in that I am not java-educated.

The closest I'm coming to a possibility is to use javaloader. I know there are a few (expensive) tools that I could buy from UK but for reasons of both economy and insight I'd prefer a software solution.

Yes, I've searched extensively on the BB forums and it's possible I've overlooked something.  Device is 8830 World Edition, provider is Verizon. I've gotten an ipd and converted using ABC successfully; and I've "cloned" the SIM (yes, in a CDMA phone) and imaged it.  Assistance will be truly appreciated.

Jeff Baker, CCE

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1154, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: SDK to capture forensic image

I don't think you need a SDK to do this. If you have tools to read a image on your computer you can plug the BlackBerry into a computer and access it as a flash drive thus you don't alter any data that might be there.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Solutions: 5,925