Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
gmatta
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Screen Navigation

I am using JDE 4.5.0.7 and Simulator 8300

I have over 7 screens in my application that the user will navigate to and from as they complete their work.  Right now I am creating a new screen each time they navigate to it.  This of course is placing multiple versions of the same screen into the list of screens where they are pushed.

What is the best way to handle this situation?  Is there a way to determine if a screen already exists in the list and if so, find it and use it rather than creating a new one eash time?

If there is not a way to do this what would the best way to be from a memory and processing stand point?

If so pointing me to some examples would be helpful as I am new to this.

THANKS

Please use plain text.
Developer
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Screen Navigation

Check this link:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&thread.id=13264

And look at this link: Blackberry Developer Guide & Other documentation

There is helpful information to resolve your issue.

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange

Regardless of the memory/processing used, your first consideration must be what the user wants/expects. 

To make this easy, I'm going to call your screens Screen1, Screen2, Screen3, ... Screen7.