Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
likebb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Setting AMR bitrate

Hello

I want to set the 5.15 kbps for AMR codec for playing and recording.

How can I set ?

is it possible 5.15kbps on Bold9000 phone?

(as I tested, default bitrate is 12.2 kbps.)

 

thanks.

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
Marek_
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-20-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Setting AMR bitrate

I'm curious too, according to http://tinyurl.com/2q5do8 this bitrate is supported...
Please use plain text.
Contributor
sleepymg
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: curve 8900

Re: Setting AMR bitrate

Does anyone know is it possible to record AMR in different rate than 12.2 kbps? And offcourse how to set player to record it.

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Setting AMR bitrate

Please read some documentation before making a post: http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/5.0.0api/javax/microedition/media/Manager.html

 

I happen to use 5.0 but this has been supported since 4.0 (or so it says).

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
sleepymg
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: curve 8900

Re: Setting AMR bitrate

Thx ,

 

But,

I've seen documentation. Maybe I'm blind but I can't see where's AMR mentioned in that text. 

 

audio_enc       = "pcm" / "ulaw" / "gsm" / content_type

 

Besides that, RIM copied that text from J2ME MMAPI and I'm aware what is stated in MMAPI, but i don't know what was implemented by RIM.

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Setting AMR bitrate

MMAPI allows you to query what is supported:

Manager.getSupportedContentTypes("capture");

 

If AMR is returned then you can safely do "encoding=amr"

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
sleepymg
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: curve 8900

Re: Setting AMR bitrate

[ Edited ]

Ok, i know that AMR is supported but I want to know if anyone succeeded to record AMR with different rate.

 

This will record AMR with 12.2 kbps

 

player = Manager.createPlayer("capture://audio?encoding=amr");

 

I need something like this.

player = Manager.createPlayer("capture://audio?encoding=amr&rate=5150");

 

Which rates are for sure supported and on which device/OS?

Please use plain text.