Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
ianstrain
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

I have a Pearl 8220 V4.6.0.155. My application uses the persmissions to set in input simulation to allow. On the Bold V4.6.0.266 and Curve 8900 V4.6.1.231 the code works and sets the input simulation to allow.

The code I am using is as follows:

 

ApplicationPermissionsManager apm = ApplicationPermissionsManager.getInstance(); if (apm.getPermission(ApplicationPermissions.PERMISSION_INPUT_SIMULATION) != ApplicationPermissions.VALUE_ALLOW) { ApplicationPermissions ap = new ApplicationPermissions(); ap.addPermission(ApplicationPermissions.PERMISSION_INPUT_SIMULATION); ApplicationPermissionsManager.getInstance().invokePermissionsRequest(ap); }

 

 This brings up the interface for the user to set the permissions. In the Input Simulation options, the only option available is Deny, there is no Allow or Prompt. But on other options, for example Files, all the options are available. Also on the other devices the Input Simulation has all these options available.

 

Is there an issue that the Pearl 8200 does not allow input simulation for some reason? Or is there somthing additional I have to do?

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

Is this phone on a BES network? It sounds like a BES policy restriction was imposed - this particular permission is typically restricted in corporate networks for security reasons.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
ianstrain
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

I am using the vodafone network which would be on a BIS if anything. We did get the device from the Rim loan program.
Please use plain text.
Developer
ianstrain
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

Does anyone have a solution to this problem?
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,434
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

[ Edited ]

The BlackBerry may still have an IT Policy on it from a previous user.  Go to Options, Security Options and then IT Policy or Information (depending on your version) and see if an IT Policy is present.  If so, you can use javaloader to remove all data on the device, including the IT Policy by using the following command:

 

javaloader -u resttofactory

 

Note that wiping the device using Application Loader or via the security options does not delete the IT Policy.

Message Edited by MSohm on 09-21-2009 02:30 PM
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
ianstrain
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

Thanks Mark,

 

That worked. Command is JavaLoader -u resettofactory

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,434
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Setting permissions on Pearl 8220

No problem.  You're right, I'll fix my command line above.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.