Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
MattKeyes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Simulator and MDS Upload File Limit

I fixed this issue a long time ago, but with a new laptop, etc., I can't figure out how to do it.

 

We use the kSoap library to contact .NET web services from the BlackBerry, and it works fine until I try to upload data beyond a certain size (probably around 250K maybe?  I haven't confirmed the exact size).  I know it works on the server end b/c we do it successfully on a number of other devices, but the BB simulator times out b/c the MDS that is running in the background won't even acknowledge the request was sent.  This is sent using POST data to the web service.

 

How do I configure the MDS to allow the simulator to upload larger data sizes?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
MattKeyes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator and MDS Upload File Limit

I know there is a config for this somewhere as we handled this way back when.  Can anyone explain the POST limit size through the BB simulator/MDS?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
MattKeyes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator and MDS Upload File Limit

I see in the rimpublic.property folder there is a setting as follows:

 

IPPP.connection.MaxNumberOfKBytesToSend=256

 

I have tried expanding this number to something much higher (i.e. 10000) but it does not help.  Am I on the right track here?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
MattKeyes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator and MDS Upload File Limit

The frustrating thing is there is no problem on the downloads.  Just the uploads.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
pravinuttarwar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator and MDS Upload File Limit

I am also facing the same problem.

Can anyone help in this matter?

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
pablo_ivan57
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator and MDS Upload File Limit

Hi, first of all sorry for posting on an old thread, however I'm facing the exact same issue, did you manage to upload files using the MDS simulator???

Please use plain text.