Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
pconroy
My Device: Not Specified

Sorry Nuther Noob! Overwhelmed, where to start???

Hi folks - I'm a newbie and am overwhelmed with all of the forums and information.

And I'm struggling with HelloWorld.  :simleysad:

I've got an 8700c, I've installed JDE 4.1.0; created a workspace; created a project; typed in HelloWorld.java from the BB App Developer Guide #1, clicked Build And Run, watched the simulator launch and...

...nothing.

I'm expecting to see "HelloWorld" somewhere on the simulator.

Is there a set of "Getting Started" sticky posts, docs, examples, FAQs out there so us newbies can get up to speed without bothering the experience developers?

Thanks - Patrick

Developer
gxgraham
My Device: Curve 8320

Re: Sorry Nuther Noob! Overwhelmed, where to start???

Make sure the project is active.  Click Project, Set Active Projects ...  Your HelloWorld needs to be selected there.

Developer
peter_strange

Patrick, welcome! 

There are load of useful resources here:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/resources/

I particularly recommend some of the videos for the JDE(http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/resources/videolibrary.jsp#tab_ddetail_subtab_jde), in your case, and I'm not being frivolous, I would actually do the debugging one!

The other 'path' you may wish too take are the Labs (see Developer Labs link on the left).  I must admit I tend to download the solutions first when reviewing these....  But you will find another HelloWorld in there that might be easier for you.

Hope this helps. 

Developer
KeniF

According to your information I think your HelloWorld is already there.

Just go to the list of applications and you should find a "Command prompt" style icon.

Developer
AsriDwitiya