Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Highlighted
New Developer
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Static Data

Hi,

I have a strange problem. I am not an expert in BB development. May be the solution is simple enough but not sure which one.

I have a class which has to public static functions which sets/gets a static flag value.

Access  to the class is being done from different packages, but everytime I query the flag value it always returns FALSE. From the defination of static variables, its copy is created only once and all the objects of the class share the same value. 

Following is the code snipped

public static boolean bAlertFlag =false;    
    public static void setFlag(boolean bFlag){
        bAlertFlag = bFlag;
    }

public static boolean getFlag(){
        return bAlertFlag;
    }

Accessing it using following lines 

Test.setAlertFlag(true) 

Test.getFlag()

Can somebody help me on this. ? 

Regards,

/nd 

Developer

Re: Static Data

I haven't looked seriously at your code, but if you search round the forum, you will find other people have reported what they see as strange behavior with the static variables.  The important thing to note is that a static is not a Singleton.  If you want s Singleton use RuntimeStore.

See the following Thread for more:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&message.id=5457&query.id=132...

Developer

Can you post more code?

I guess two suspects may be "volatile" and name interference but you'd have to see details.

Offhand, I'm not sure if you could get offensive name conflicts by the compiler ,

http://java.sun.com/docs/books/jls/third_edition/html/packages.html

I guess you could verify that the right code is being called in the sequence you expect and

narrow down the problem.

Developer