Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
amiz
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Switching SDK in Eclipse

The current app I am working on is compiled and running under SDK5.0. I downloaded in Eclipse SDK4.7 and 4.5 and want to compile against 4.5 to support 8300 devices.

 

When I open the Application Descriptor, the box in the build tab shows the three SDKs (4.7, 4.5 and 5.0) with the checkmark against the 5.0. I cannot change the checkmark.

 

I tried changing the JRE in the configuration and selecting the alternate, this just opens the 8300 simulator but does not recompile the app.

 

What's the procedure to change the SDK so that the app can be downloaded to legacy devices.

 

Thanks

Alan

Developer
sonicboomboy
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: 8520

Re: Switching SDK in Eclipse

Greetings, amiz,

Try to right click your project in eclipse navigator/package explorer , than choose Build Path>Configure Build Path>Libraries tab>choose the given JRE(SDK) and click Edit to select your desired.

Got resolved! Press kudo icon!
Developer
amiz
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Switching SDK in Eclipse

That does not do it, I only see the SDK5.0 listed and not other SDKs. There must be a different procedure to compile against the 4.5 or 4.7 SDK instead of the 5.0SDK.

 

Anyone at BlackBerry?

Contributor
Arjav
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
My Device: 8100

Re: Switching SDK in Eclipse

[ Edited ]

Do the following steps:

 

1) Expand the project tree in package explorer.

2) Right click on the JRE System Library Folder and click on Properties.

3) Click on Alternate JRE and select the JRE version you want to use.

 

Arjav Dave
Developer
Ted_Hopp
Posts: 1,305
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Switching SDK in Eclipse

You should check that the 4.5 and 4.7 JREs are properly installed. Go to Windows > Preferences, expand the Java branch and select Installed JREs. If you don't see them there, that would explain why you can't follow the steps of sonicboomboy or Arjav.




Solved? click "Accept as solution". Helpful? give kudos by clicking on the star.
Developer
laliux
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎07-16-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: Switching SDK in Eclipse

Hi amiz, try this..

 

1. Install the JDE Component Package 4.7.0

2. Create the file BlackBerry.ee in the installation directory for the JDE 4.7, let say.. Program files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE Component Package 4.7.0

 

The BlackBerry.ee have this content:

 

-Dee.executable=${ee.home}\simulator\fledge.exe
-Dee.bootclasspath=${ee.home}\lib\net_rim_api.jar
-Dee.javadoc=file:${ee.home}\docs\api
-Dee.language.level=1.3
-Djava.home=${ee.home}
-Dee.name=BlackBerry JRE 4.7.0
-Dee.description=BlackBerry Java API Definitions, simulators and utilities for BlackBerry smartphone OS version 4.7.0
-Dee.copyright=Copyright (c) Research In Motion Ltd. 1997-2010  All Rights Reserved.
-Dee.output.folder.suffix=4.7.0

 

3. Add the JRE 4.7 in eclipse.

 

a) Choose Project properties

b) Choose Java Build Path -> Libraries -> Edit

c) Click "Installed JREs" (you will se only el JRE 5.0), then click the button "Add".

d) Select "BlackBerry Execution Env" , Next,

e) Search for the BlackBerry.ee file and put it in the "Definition Text Field"

 

4. If all is right, you will have two JREs installed, the 5.0 and the 4.7

 

5. In the previous window now you can choose the JRE 4.7. That's all.

 

 

Is the same process for add the JRE 4.5.

 

 

Greetings