Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
jtp5120
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Carrier: Verizon
Accepted Solution

Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

Might be the dumb question of the day, but I am assuming that the only way to clear the persistent storage in a Simulator is to stop the Simulator, run clean on the Simulator and start the Simulator back up again?

 

Or is there a neat trick to test persistent storage that doesn't require a restart cycle of a Simulator?

 

I want to:

 

  1. Run my app.
  2. Check persistent storage.
  3. If it's wrong, clear persistent storage.
  4. Run my app. again.

 

Thanks,

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
rrr_04
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎03-02-2010

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

[ Edited ]

Hi

 

You can also clean persistent storage in a Simulator without run clean.bat.

 

In eclipse menu ,click on blackberry ->; Erase simulator file.

 

Hope this help

Please use plain text.
Developer
BriGuy
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

Thanks for the tip rrr_04.. I like getting little tips like this.  Kudos to you :-)

Thanks, Brian
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To error is human, but to really mess things up requires admin rights.

If this post has helped, don't be shy and click the kudo's star !!!
Please use plain text.
Developer
jtp5120
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

Which BlackBerry icon do I click on to get the correct Eclipse context menu?

I cannot find the Erase simulator file option.

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Please use plain text.
Developer
BriGuy
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

[ Edited ]

Look under "Project" --> "BlackBerry" -- "Clean Simulator..."  at the bottom of the menu.

 

Eclipse_clear_BB_simulator.png

Thanks, Brian
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To error is human, but to really mess things up requires admin rights.

If this post has helped, don't be shy and click the kudo's star !!!
Please use plain text.
Developer
jtp5120
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

The only options I have in the Clean Simulator dialog window are:

 

BlackBerry JRE 5.0.0

  • Remove Applications
  • Remove Files from the File System
  • Remove Files from the SD Card
  • Reset Security Settings

 

 

These options can only be ran when the Simulator is not running. I was looking for an option to erase persistent storage while the Simulator is running.

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Please use plain text.
Developer
BriGuy
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

Because you want to clear persistent storage, you want to clear the .dmp files (i.e. Remove Files from the File System).  So put a check mark on that option and click OK.

Thanks, Brian
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To error is human, but to really mess things up requires admin rights.

If this post has helped, don't be shy and click the kudo's star !!!
Please use plain text.
Developer
BriGuy
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

[ Edited ]

I didn't read your message very well, my bad.  I guess if you can't clear the storage when the simulator is running then this won't help.

Thanks, Brian
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To error is human, but to really mess things up requires admin rights.

If this post has helped, don't be shy and click the kudo's star !!!
Please use plain text.
Developer
donturner
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Testing persistent storage in a Simulator

Just to add that on Windows 7 64-bit the clean simulator method does not clean my persistent storage. To clean it I have to delete the entire contents of: C:\Users\<username>\net\rim\fledge-2. 

 

This completely resets the simulator to default settings.

Please use plain text.