Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Text Wrapping for text in List Field items

I am pretty new to Blackberry application development, so please excuse any novice questions.

I am developing a simple Java application for Blackberry. Using JDE 4.5, Eclipse 3.4 with Blackberry Plugin and testing using simulator for BB 8300.

My program connects to a web service and returns a list of data which I show on the screen using the ListField from the rim api. But, most of the text is quite long, and as a result the extra text beyond the phone's screen is clipped. I have tried using the VerticalFieldManager and FlowFieldManager, but that doesn't help either.

But if I add as many RichTextStrings as the number of items in the list, those items wrap my text automatically. But I need these items to be selectable, so the list of TextFields doesn't work. And since I only found the ListField as selectable I am using that.

I could not find anything in the documentation or forums to help me with my problem.

Thanks for replies in advance. :-)

Developer

Re: Text Wrapping for text in List Field items

This thread will give you some clues.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&message.id=18909&query.id=11...

Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
New Developer

Thanks BBDeveloper, for the really quick reply. :-)