Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
Accepted Solution

Text showing invalid

I made two applications. When i intalled both application in mobile. then some text exchange means first application to second and vice versa.

 

If I installed single application it works fine. Please advice me what could be problem.

Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,282
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Text showing invalid

make sure that your resource files have a unique package id.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Text showing invalid

How to make it unique.??

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,610
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Text showing invalid

Are you asking how to create a unique package name or how to set the package name for the resources?

Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Text showing invalid

how to set the package name for the resources?

Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,282
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Text showing invalid

create a package where the resoures are kept.
usually you use your FQDN (in reverse)+appname for the package, and maybe a describing name, like com.ajaysainsgvu.myapp.res
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Text showing invalid

I kep resource bundles in res folder. Each project have unique package.

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,610
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Text showing invalid

Are we talking about localization resources, the files with extensions like rrc?

 

If so, you need to set the package name, which you can do by using the Options button when editing these.  But you will have had to do that in order to include the resources in your application.  If your applications have different package names, then this should not be a problem. 

 

Can you please describe your problem again, in detail.  Please tell us what you see, what you expect to see, and how you have specified the failing text. 

Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Text showing invalid

Mostly keys are same but values are different in two project. When i installed both they text exchange means intead of display First Name its displaying text of second application.

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,610
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Text showing invalid

Is the package name for the resource file different in the two projects?  And how exactly you have specified the failing text?