Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
scrivomcdivo
My Device: Not Specified

Too Difficult for a Noob??

Greetings from the UK and a Happy Easter to fellow forum members.

I am new to development and have no experience what-so-ever of developing apps but I'm hoping to give it a go and succeed (hopefully!!!). I don't have any knowledge of Java neither nor any other scripting language.

What I'm hoping to develop is a cross-platform app (for BB Curve, Bold, Storm etc...) that is a language guide. The use firstly select their language from a list and then once selected, a further list then appears with say 20 phrases or so. The user then selects a phrase from this list and the user is then taken to the translation of the respective phrase in the language selected by the user.

Is this a nightmare project for a Noob like myself or is this possible?

Thanks once again all :smileywink:

Please use plain text.
Developer
webmasterpdx

Re: Too Difficult for a Noob??

OK, first, if you are talking the language of text in the application. Each development environment has their own way of doing this. So, that's kind of a pointless app.

If you are talking about translating programming languages, they don't translate like that.

There is a J2me type IDE for the Iphone, but it'd be easier to just develop in Objective C and J2ME on the blackberry and Android.

So, if I were you, and you seriously want to develop for your phone. Then first, go to the list at the top of this section of recommended links and read them all. Learn Java first and then J2ME and write your own "hello world" app. Thats where I'd start.

I think then you'll get a better feel for why the app you are suggesting is probably not realistic.

Thx

-D

===============

Donald Murray

CTO IPPUB