Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Trusted Contributor
user17
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: airtel

Transition effect

Hi All,

         In bold 9700, you can see in device scree  'All'  while click that page will go up, again i click 'All'  it will go down.
I need like that effect, how i can do it? Please help me.

 

 

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,010
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Transition effect

check http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/ui/TransitionContext.html
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
user17
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: airtel

Re: Transition effect

[ Edited ]

Hi simon_hain,

 

Thanks for your response, Using TransitionContext i can do only for different screens?  But i need same effect for same screen? you can see in these effect in device(Bold 9700) while click 'All' some field manager going up and showing different menus in that field manager. if i click 'All' again it going down.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,010
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Transition effect

the API is only for screens afaik.
RIM can use other stuff that is not exposed...
Maybe you can animate it yourself, no experience in this area.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
user17
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: airtel

Re: Transition effect

[ Edited ]

Hi simon_hain,

 

                      Thanks for your response, I will try this animation.

Please use plain text.
Developer
maadani
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
My Device: 9700

Re: Transition effect

Hi @

 

The transitionContext works only for screens but you can create a screen which will contain several partially transparent screens.

For example:

 

1. First screen will be the background.

 

2. Second screen will contain only a title.

 

3. Third screen will contain only an image.

 

Both second & third screen will have transparent background so it will appear as one screen to the user.

 

Pros:

 

1. You can use the transitionContext which is easy to use.

2. You can create different transition for each screen. 

 

Cons:

 

1. You will have more screens in the stack which means more overhead.

2. Moving Focus between UI elements would be a lot more difficult to handle, Only elements in the top screen are focusable.

3. Handling layout is also a bit more difficult since you will have to consider the screen below.

 

Again, as @simon_hain mentioned, you can animate the elements on your own.

 

Hope that helps,

 

E.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
user17
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: airtel

Re: Transition effect

Hi maadani,

 

                     Can you give me some idea about animation. how to implement animation in field manager?

 

 

 

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Developer
maadani
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
My Device: 9700

Re: Transition effect

Please use plain text.