Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

I am getting this error on device "Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1". Its work fine on emulator. Why its so?

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,603
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

How many connection Threads are active at the same time?

 

You probably are not getting this on the SImualtor becuase communicaiotn is a lot faster than on device, especially if the device is using wireless. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

So What can be the solution for this.

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,603
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

Only have a few connections going at once.  I would suggest a maximum of 3.  Queue your requests to these connection threads. 

 

This is a sort of Thread pooling solution and has been discussed at length previously.  Search the forum for more.  It is usually discussed as a response to a too many Thread exception. 

 

But I am not sure that this is your problem.  Can you answer the question from my previous post please. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

How many connection Threads are active at the same time - near 5-6 threads.

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,603
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

I don't think that number should cuase a problem.  How do you restrict the number?  I am presuming your code fires off a request when it needs a resource, which will start a new Thread? 

Please use plain text.
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

How do you restrict the number? What its means please elaborate I did not get you.

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,603
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

You have said you only have 5 or 6 connection Threads active.  But if your code does, as I suspect, start a new Thread each time it needs to download a resource, how do you know this number and how do you restrict it to just 5 or 6? 

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,133
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

a connection queue is a pattern, you should be able to find sources online that give samples and show how to implement it.

the scope of this forum is not to teach beginners programming.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
ajaysainsgvu
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500

Re: Unchoking Tunnel.open due to 'max tunnels' error; id=1

I have created 5-6 thread. they are running continous,. I put the code in while and put the threads sleep according to requirement.

Please use plain text.