Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Regular Contributor
IpiRon
My Device: Developer

Understanding GUI Basics

Newbie here. Okay, I know there is a ton of stuff out there on this and I've spent a lot of time with using search and this is not a rant but...

I'm trying to get at the fundementals of how the GUI works. I've built some custom edittext and button fields based on the various posts I've discovered (kudos to all for providing them!). But whenever I make a change to implement a new feature something blows up. This to me reflects my lack of understanding of how the various objects, properties and methods are related, i.e. graphics object, layout methods, etc. It seems to me that the various method overrides and low-level coding is the only way to implement these things i.e. a lot of behavior that we need has not yet been implemented as simple properties/methods on the existing UI objects. Okay, we can live with that but we need to know more about how it all ties together (without us having to 'throw stuff against the wall and see what sticks).

I know others have expressed a desire for a top down approach (http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/A-Question-oF-GUI-Proportions/m-p/554461/hig...) more eloquently than I have but the replies never really seem to point to definitive 'this is how it works' sources. I am familiar with the UI chapters in Rizk's book: Beginning Blackberry development. I am also familiar with the Advanced UI samples (I need to target 5.0 devices though).

This current approach is faulty because:

1. A lot of information uncovered by searches is either stale, incomplete or wrong. To be expected though, but more importantly it wastes substantial amounts of time.