Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
jonberry
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Vodafone UK Direct TCP

Does Vodafone UK have any restrictions on streaming data over Direct TCP?

 

We've had several users complain that they are only able to stream a few hundred kilobytes before the stream is cut off.

 

I don't have any way to test this as I'm in North America.

 

Thanks.

 

Developer
Aviator168
Posts: 709
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
My Device: 8520, 8900, 9000, 9300, 9650, 9700, 9780, 9800, 9810, 9900, 9930

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

Are you transmitting from the phone or the phone is doing the receiving?

 

I found that I can't transmitting much from the phone via direct TCP and I am in North America

Developer
jonberry
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

The phone is receiving.

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

Make sure you're really using Direct TCP (called Carrier TCP nowadays) rather than WAP 2.0 TCP to which BlackBerrys with Vodafone UK SIMs silently switch unless care is taken. The WAP 2.0 transport is pretty strange and unreliable on Vodafone UK.

 

To force Direct TCP append ";connectionhandler=none;ConnectionUID=" to the Connector.open URL you are using (in addition to other parameters, such as ";deviceside=true").

Developer
jonberry
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

 


klyubin wrote:

Make sure you're really using Direct TCP (called Carrier TCP nowadays) rather than WAP 2.0 TCP to which BlackBerrys with Vodafone UK SIMs silently switch unless care is taken. The WAP 2.0 transport is pretty strange and unreliable on Vodafone UK.

 

To force Direct TCP append ";connectionhandler=none;ConnectionUID=" to the Connector.open URL you are using (in addition to other parameters, such as ";deviceside=true").


 

 

Thanks for the help.

 

Makes sense, but it's hard to believe that Vodafone gets away with this stuff.

 

Are these parameters necessary with using Carrier TCP over WiFi on Vodafone UK?

 

Can we append these parameters without causing problems on other carriers?

 

 

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,610
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

[ Edited ]

In my experience, these parameters are needed for Vodafone UK. 

 

I believe that these parameters will be ignored by other carriers.

 

I think there are other carriers that also need these parameters set to stop the default use of WAP, for example Verizon in the US.

Developer
jonberry
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

Thanks Peter.

 

Are these parameters necessary to use WiFi on Vodafone UK?

 

FYI, Verizon doesn't need this.

 

 

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

Wi-Fi connections (those where you append ";interface=wifi") have nothing to do with the carrier. You don't need to append connectionhandler=none or ConnectionUID= to Wi-Fi connection URLs.

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,610
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

"Verizon doesn't need this" - that is good to know - thanks.

Developer
jonberry
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vodafone UK Direct TCP

 


klyubin wrote:

Wi-Fi connections (those where you append ";interface=wifi") have nothing to do with the carrier. You don't need to append connectionhandler=none or ConnectionUID= to Wi-Fi connection URLs.


 

 

That's what I thought but when I asked the user to test WiFi he said he was having the same problem.

 

Anyway, this got me thinking...

 

If you use the new ConnectionFactory in 5.0 and specify  a TCP_CELLULAR Transport do you still get a WAP connection on Vodafone UK?

 

Anyone tried this yet?