Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
br14
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

eclipse debugging performance

Anyone have problems debugging in eclipse?

 

I'm using 3.5.2 with the latest release of the BlackBerry eclipse plug-in.

 

Whenever I try to debug performance is awful. I've tried cleaning the simulator etc, but with limited success.

 

The same code running in the JDE zips along during debugging.

 

It's now quicker for me to develop in eclipse (I'm more comfortable with editing), and then copy the code into the JDE to debug.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
arirushan
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: 3

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Do you mean that debugging using BB eclipse plugin 1.1 was very slow ?

 

I tried to use eclipse plugin 1.1 but have never succeed.

 

I stay with BB eclipse plugin 1.0.0, although I have to restart the simulator everytime I want to debug it.

 

BTW, the simulator startup time is depend on the kind of simulator that you uses. On 8330 is faster than 8520 or 9000.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
br14
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Stepping through code line by line has become impossible using the eclipse plugin.

 

I can run from breakpoint to breakpoint successfully though the performance is still poor.

 

It seems to be since the last plugin update.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,379
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Our development team is aware of this issue, but it hasn't been addressed yet in a released version of the BlackBerry Java Plug-in for Eclipse.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
BB-Dude
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: eclipse debugging performance

I am also having a very hard time debugging my code using the Eclipse BlackBerry plug-in.

It is at a point where I have to wait about 2 minutes for it to move to the next line.

Also I am getting an out of memory crash when I am debugging.

Hope RIM releases a fix soon :smileyindifferent:

Please use plain text.
New Member
pstojcsics
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Hello Mark!

 

It's still a piece of **bleep**. Do you have an ETA when the line by line debugging will be usable?

 

Peter

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
kwallis
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Hi Peter and BB-Dude.  We understand that this is frustrating.  Can I ask you to check what your -Xmx setting in your eclipse.ini file is set to?  If it is less, can you try setting it to 768 and see if that helps?

 

Thanks!

Ken Wallis - Senior Product Manager, WebWorks and Android Runtime
@ken_wallis
Please use plain text.
Developer
lcaro
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
My Device: Blackberry 8110
My Carrier: Generic

Re: eclipse debugging performance

That's the solution to the slow debugging problem.

 

It works like a charm now. Just modified the eclipse.ini and now I can debug very quickly.

 

Thank you very much indeed for this forum it saves me a lot of time.

Regards

Please use plain text.