Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
inkhaton
My Device: Not Specified

is it just me or is the whole Blackberry Development Process / Environment unstable?

I have been working with blackberry now for a few months and it seems like there is many more headaches with the development of software for the blackberry than I have seen on other platforms.

So far it seems that:

The eclipse update site is broken.

The simulators are flaky at best, never really clean an applicaiton and don't load apps consistently.

I often have to restart eclipse or sometimes my computer to get the simulators to start from eclipse repeatedly without startup errors or just hanging.

The alx and jad versions of loading apps work completely differently and store versions of the app in 2 files, and the apploader and the device can show differnt verison.

It is almost impossible to reinstall an app even a new verison, without formatting the device sometimes.

The signature keys are annoying and work unpredictably.

The documentation is incosistend and often incorrect often misleading about actual OS feature compativility like SQLlite (works on system  memory only on 3 devices - all others need an sd card)

and of course,..

it takes the simulators FOREVER to start.

I was wondering maybe if these issues prevent anyone else from efficiently writing code. It seems 95% of my time is spent starting the simulators, restarting my computer or tracking some bug only to realize that the one particular model I am testing on doesn't support the OS feature like the documentation says.

I would love to find out that in all these situations I am doing something wrong and find another way but rim support never responds to my questions.