Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
neil1967
My Device: Not Specified

missing java.net

Howdy folks, java newbie here.  I've been trying to build a test application that uses the java.net package, but when I import it, the build complains that it doesn't exist.  I don't know how RIM's jre does paths, but I have, at the system and user level on my machine, the JAVA_HOME variable set to where I think it should point (c:\program files\java\jre1.6.0_05).  When I'm typing out the import line in the .java file, the autocomplete when I type "import java." only shows rmi, lang, io and util, but I just don't know where it's looking.  Any help would be appreciated.

Neil

Please use plain text.
New Developer
neil1967

Re: missing java.net

okay, so I found net_rim_api.jar doesn't have java.net. any ideas on how to add it?
Please use plain text.
Developer
davidmccormack
My Device: Galaxy S II
My Carrier: Meteor (Ireland)

In short, you're not going to find the java.net package. Remember that the BlackBerry uses Java Micro Edition (J2ME) rather than Java Standard Edition (J2SE). With J2ME you do all your networking via the Connector class in the javax.microedition.io package. Look it up. If, like me, you're coming at this from a desktop software development background you'll probably spend the next hour going "no...they can't be serious" but 2-3 months on it won't seem strange at all. Honest!

Please use plain text.
Developer
redmapleleaf

I am running into the same situation and yeah my reaction is "they can't be serious!!!". It is so painful to have to go through each of the class and look for a similar one in blackberry, sometime there isn't a similar one either. I don't know how do you do it but I am about to give up with blackberry :smileysad:
Please use plain text.
Developer
dkonigs