Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
ipcTony
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

multiple persistent objects

newbie here.... well hardware engineer turn wanna be java programmer. Working on a demo project for work and need to figure out how to store multiple objects in the device persistent store. Read and tried playing with the restaurant example in the developer guide. its working but it only lets me store data for single object. my little programming background not helping any... still can't figure out how to expand the example into storing multiple restaurant information.

can some shead some light/hints on how to expand the example for multiple objects?

Developer
peter_strange

Re: multiple persistent objects

Without getting too technical, you can only store 1 object using 1 ID.  So one obvious solution to your problem is the have multiple persistent IDs.

Another option is to use a 'collection' like a Vector, and store the Objects you want at specific indexes.  So say you have three objects you want to store, A, B and C, then you put A in index 0, B in index 1 and C in index 2, then persist the entire Vector.  If you update B, then you put the new version of B in index 1, and persist the Vector again.

Does this help?

Developer
ipcTony

Peter,

thank you for explaing it in laymen’s terms. any other response i would be totally confused otherwise. I think i understand your recommendations. so its okay to um "layer" i don't think this is the right term... but to use the vector collection class on an object that already incorporates a vector?

Developer
fbwing

ipcTony,

Here is some sample code for storing multiple records to persistent store.  In this example the persistent store is storing only strings.