Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
ronenfe
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

open new screen from a current screen

hi, i am new to blackberry.

i have 2 files: screen1.java and screen2.java.

in screen1.java:

import net.rim.device.api.ui.UiApplication;
import net.rim.device.api.ui.component.LabelField;
import net.rim.device.api.ui.container.MainScreen;

public class Screen1 extends UiApplication
{

public static void main(String[] args)
{
Screen1 screen1 = new Screen1();
screen1.enterEventDispatcher();
}
public Screen1()
{
pushScreen(new Screen1Screen());
Screen2 screen2 = new Screen2();
screen2.enterEventDispatcher();
}
}
final class Screen1Screen extends MainScreen
{

public Screen1Screen()
{
super();
setTitle(new LabelField("Screen1"));
}

}

in screen2.java

import net.rim.device.api.ui.UiApplication;

public class Screen2 extends UiApplication
{

public Screen2()
{
pushScreen(new Screen2Screen());
}
}
final class Screen2Screen extends MainScreen
{

public Screen2Screen()
{
super();
setTitle(new LabelField("Screen2"));
}

}

i get exception error: Application already running in this process.

What am i doing wrong? i want to open screen2 from screen1.

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange

Re: open new screen from a current screen

" i am new to blackberry." - Welcome aboard

To answer your specific question, you problem is that you seem to think that it is the statement

"enterEventDispatcher();"

that enables new Screens to be pushed.  This is not the case, the enterEventDispatcher is just a bit of magic you have to code at the start of the application to get it going and you only code it once.  You will understand this better latter, for the moment, just code it and continue.